Victoria Hislop is an English author best known for The Island and The Return.

Hilsop read English at Oxford, worked in publishing, publication, and as a journalist before turning to writing. She published her first novel, The Island, in 2005 and the book went to number one on the Sunday Times paperback charts for eight consecutive weeks. It was then adapted by a Greek television network where it achieved record high television ratings. Victoria was the winner of the Newcomer of the Year award at the Galaxy British Book Awards in 2007.

Get notified when Victoria Hislop releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Sink or Swim (2001)Description / Buy at
Fix Your Life - Now! (With: Duncan Goodhew) (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Last Dance and Other Stories (2012)Description / Buy at
RED (With: Emma Donoghue) (2012)Description / Buy at
Cartes Postales from Greece (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Emma Donoghue Short Story Collections

Touchy Subjects (By: Emma Donoghue) (2006)Description / Buy at
Three and a Half Deaths (By: Emma Donoghue) (2011)Description / Buy at
RED (With: Emma Donoghue) (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Ox-Tales: Fire(2009)Description / Buy at
The Story: 100 Great Short Stories Written by Women(2013)Description / Buy at

If You Like Victoria Hislop Books, You’ll Love…

Those Who Are Loved takes place in Athens in 1941. Greece is struggling with battles between the right and left-wing views when the Germans invade. A fifteen-year-old named Themis comes from a family that is divided by their politics and the Nazi occupation only deepens the divide. She will see friends die in the famine, but finds herself moved by resistance. After the war, Themis joins the Communist army during her country’s civil war. She is eventually captured and sent to the islands of exile, Makronisos and then Trikeri. Here she will meet another prisoner who will entwine with her own in ways she couldn’t have foreseen. She must weight her principles against her desire to escape.

The Sunrise takes place in the summer of 1972 in Famagusta, Cyprus’s most glamorous city and tourist destination. Aphroditi and her husband Savvas own The Sunrise, a hotel that is frequented by the European elite. The Sunrise is their club and it is the place to be. However, beneath the tranquil opulence of the club there is hostility between Greeks and Turks. Years of unrest will come to a head when Greece’s coup d’état provokes a Turkish attack on the beautiful city. In the fallout, many seek exodus, but two families remain in the city, one Turkish and one Greek, who now seek refuge at what was once The Sunrise.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Victoria Hislop Books

Leave a Reply