Walter Satterthwait was na American author who wrote mysteries and historical fiction. He is best known for writing the Escapade series and the Joshua Croft series of books. He wrote his first book, Cocaine Blues, in 1979.

Satterthwait’s best known character is the Sante Fe private detective Joshua Croft. He also has delved into historical fiction with the release Miss Lizzie, about Lizzie Borden, and Wilde West, a western starring Oscar Wilde. Walter was a big fan of mystery writers growing up and was a big fan of Dashiell Hammett. Satterthwait passed away in February of 2020 at the age of 73.

Publication Order of Escapade Books

Publication Order of Joshua Croft Books

Wall of Glass (1988)Description / Buy at
At Ease with the Dead (1990)Description / Buy at
A Flower in the Desert (1992)Description / Buy at
The Hanged Man (1993)Description / Buy at
The Death Card (1995)Description / Buy at
Accustomed to the Dark (1996)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Miss Lizzie Books

Miss Lizzie (1989)Description / Buy at
New York Nocturne (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Sleight of Hand (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

The Gold of Mayani (1995)Description / Buy at
The Mankiller of Poojegai and Other Stories (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Distant Danger(1988)Description / Buy at
Murder Intercontinental(1996)Description / Buy at
The Sunken Sailor(2004)Description / Buy at
Down and Out the Magazine, Vol 2, Issue 2(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Walter Satterthwait Books, You’ll Love…

Wall of Glass is the first book in the Joshua Craft mystery series. The story introduces us to Croft as he is working as an associate in a detective agency in Santa Fe. One day, a cowboy walks into the agency and asks for his help fencing a stolen $100,000 necklace. The cowboy thinks he has a deal when he leaves and then the next day he turns up dead. Now, the insurance company that settled the claim for the missing necklace want the agency to get the necklace back. Croft is on the case and digs into the cowboy’s life and finds a lot more than stolen jewels.

One of Satterthwait’s last novels was Dead Horse. This is another of his unique historical fiction novels as he reimagines the mysterious death of Emily Davies Vanderbilt Thayer Whitfield, the socialite second wife of pulp-fiction writer Raoul Whitfield. The couple has separated by the time of her death with Raoul living in Los Angeles and Emily living near Las Vegas. The coroner rules it a suicide and there is a lot of money hoping to keep the ruling that way, but the Sheriff Tom Delgado is not giving up so easily.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Walter Satterthwait Books

Leave a Reply