Winston Graham
Winston Graham (1908-2003) was an English author of historical fiction and suspense novels. He wrote the Poldark series. Graham had wanted to be a writer since he was young. Following his father’s death, his mother supported him while he tried to get published. He enjoyed playing tennis and recorded the number of sets he played each day in his diary. Several of Graham’s works have been adapted to television and film, including two Poldark TV series, Marnie was made into a film by Alfred Hitchcock, Take My Life, Night Without Stars, Fortune is a Woman, The Sleeping Partner and The Walking Stick. Graham was married in 1939 to Jean Williamson (who passed away in 1992). He passed away in 2003 in London.

Winston Graham became a published novelist in 1934 with the novel The House with the Stained Glass Windows. His final novel was the 2002 novel Bella Poldark. Below is a list of Winston Graham’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of The Poldark Saga Books

Ross Poldark (1945)Description / Buy at
Demelza (1946)Description / Buy at
Jeremy Poldark (1950)Description / Buy at
Warleggan (1953)Description / Buy at
The Black Moon (1973)Description / Buy at
The Four Swans (1976)Description / Buy at
The Angry Tide (1978)Description / Buy at
The Stranger from The Sea (1981)Description / Buy at
The Miller's Dance (1982)Description / Buy at
Poldark's Cornwall (1983)Description / Buy at
The Loving Cup (1984)Description / Buy at
The Twisted Sword (1990)Description / Buy at
Bella Poldark (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The House with the Stained Glass Windows (1934)Description / Buy at
Keys of Chance (1934)Description / Buy at
Into the Fog (1935)Description / Buy at
The Riddle of John Rowe (1935)Description / Buy at
Without Motive (1936)Description / Buy at
The Dangerous Pawn (1937)Description / Buy at
The Giant's Chair / Woman in the Mirror (1938)Description / Buy at
Strangers Meeting (1939)Description / Buy at
No Exit (1940)Description / Buy at
Night Journey (1941)Description / Buy at
Cameo / My Turn Next (1942)Description / Buy at
The Merciless Ladies (1944)Description / Buy at
The Forgotten Story (1945)Description / Buy at
Take My Life (1947)Description / Buy at
Night Without Stars (1950)Description / Buy at
Fortune Is a Woman (1953)Description / Buy at
The Little Walls / Bridge to Vengeance (1955)Description / Buy at
The Sleeping Partner (1956)Description / Buy at
Greek Fire (1958)Description / Buy at
The Wreck of the Grey Cat (1958)Description / Buy at
The Tumbled House (1959)Description / Buy at
Marnie (1961)Description / Buy at
The Grove of Eagles (1963)Description / Buy at
Cordelia (1963)Description / Buy at
After the Act (1965)Description / Buy at
The Walking Stick (1967)Description / Buy at
Angell, Pearl and Little God (1970)Description / Buy at
The Green Flash (1986)Description / Buy at
Stephanie (1992)Description / Buy at
Tremor (1995)Description / Buy at
The Ugly Sister (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Spanish Armadas (1972)Description / Buy at
Memoirs of a Private Man (2003)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The 7th Fontana Book of Great Horror Stories(1972)Description / Buy at
65 Great Spine Chillers(1982)Description / Buy at
Realms of Darkness(1985)Description / Buy at

Notes: Ross Poldark was titled The Renegade in the United States. Jeremy Poldark was titled Venture Once More in the USA. Warleggan was also published under its US title of The Last Gamble.

The Little Walls was also published under the title Bridge to Vengeance. The Giant’s Chair was revised in 1975 as Woman in the Mirror. My Turn Next was revised in 1988 as Cameo.

If You Like Winston Graham Books, You’ll Love…

Winston Graham Synopsis: Marnie appears to be a charming woman, but everything about her is a mystery to others. Now Marnie has walked into a trap. The game is over – or it would be if the man who trapped her hadn’t trapped himself as well.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Winston Graham Books

Leave a Reply