Yann Martel is a Canadian author of literary fiction novels. He is best known for his novel Life of Pi, which won the Man Booker Prize and was adapted to film. Yann was born in Spain to nomadic Canadian parents. He grew up spending time in Alaska, British Columbia, Costa Rica, France, Ontario and Mexico. As an adult, he’s lived in Iran, Turkey and India. After studying philosophy at Trent University and while doing various odd jobs – tree planting, dishwashing, working as a security guard – he began to write. He lives in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada, with the writer Alice Kuipers and their four children.

Yann Martel made his debut as a published author in 1993 with the collection The Facts Behind Helsinki Roccamatios. His debut novel was titled Self and was published in 1996. Below is a list of Yann Martel’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Yann Martel releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Self (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Life of Pi (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Beatrice and Virgil (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The High Mountains of Portugal (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Facts Behind the Helsinki Roccamatios (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

What is Stephen Harper Reading? (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
101 Letters to a Prime Minister (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Note: Making of Life of Pi was written with Jean Christophe Castelli.

If You Like Yann Martel Books, You’ll Love…

Yann Martel Synopses: Life of Pi is a standalone novel by Yann Martel. After the sinking of a cargo ship, a lone lifeboat remains adrift the waters of the Pacific Ocean. The only survivors remaining are a sixteen-year-old boy named Pi, a hyena, a wounded zebra, an orangutan – and a 450-pound Bengal tiger. The scene is set for one of the most extraordinary and beloved works of fiction in recent years.

The High Mountains of Portugal by Yann Martel is set in Lisbon in 1904, where a young man named Tomas finds an old journal. It hints at the existence of an extraordinary artifact that if he can find it would redefine history. Traveling in one of Europe’s earliest automobiles, he sets out to find this strange treasure. Thirty-five years later, a Portuguese pathologist with a devotion to the work of Agatha Christie finds himself at the center of a mystery of his own and drawn into the consequences of Tomas’ quest. Fifty years later, a Canadian senator takes refuge in his ancestral village in northern Portugal, grieving the loss of his beloved wife. But he arrives with an unusual companion: a chimpanzee. And there the century-long quest will come to an unexpected conclusion.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Yann Martel Books

Leave a Reply