Birchbark House by Louise Erdrich
The Birchbark House is a series of historical children’s books by American author Louise Erdrich. Set in the mid-19th century, the series is a look at the Westward Expansion of the United States through the Native American point of view. The series portrays the Native American culture realistically and is sympathetic towards it. The series is ideal for Grades 3-7, but can also be read by older readers who are interested in U.S. history too.

Louise Erdrich began her Birchbark House series in 1999 with the title novel. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Louise Erdrich’s Birchbark House books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Louise Erdrich releases a new book at

Publication Order of Birchbark House Books

If You Like Birchbark House Books, You’ll Love…

Birchbark House Synopsis: The Birchbark House by Louise Erdrich (the first book in the Birchbark House series) is about a Ojibwa girl named Omakayas (meaning “Little Frog”) who lives in the Lake Superior area around the mid-nineteenth century. The novel tells the story of the Native American people, rather than looking at them as dangerous outsiders.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Birchbark House Books

Leave a Reply