Broken Empire by Mark Lawrence
The Broken Empire series is a trilogy of fantasy/adventure novels by British-American novelist Mark Lawrence. The series follows Jorg Ancrath – once a privileged child of royalty, a family tragedy changed his life forever and he now is the leader of a group of thugs. Jorg must return to his father’s castle, confront his childhood and take his rightful place as king.

Mark Lawrence began his Broken Empire series in 2011 with the novel Prince of Thorns. The series lasted three novels (plus short stories), concluding in 2013 with the novel Emperor of Thorns. Below is a list of Mark Lawrence’s Broken Empire Trilogy books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Mark Lawrence releases a new book at

Publication Order of Broken Empire Books

Prince of Thorns(2011)Description / Buy at
King of Thorns(2012)Description / Buy at
Sleeping Beauty(2013)Description / Buy at
Emperor of Thorns(2013)Description / Buy at

If You Like Broken Empire Trilogy Books, You’ll Love…

Broken Empire Trilogy Synopsis: In King of Thorns by Mark Lawrence (book 2 of the series), Jorg Ancrath vowed to avenge his mother and brother’s deaths. He would later work to fulfill that vow. Now, he must fight for what he has taken by torture and treachery. Haunted by his past and nightmares of some of his own doings, King Jorg is full of anger and rage. And even as his need for revenge continues to consume him, an overwhelming enemy force marches on his castle. Jorg knows that he cannot win a fair fight. But he has found a long-hidden cache of ancient artifacts. Some would consider them to be magic. Jorg is not certain — all he knows is that their secrets will be useful to him in the coming battle…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Broken Empire Books

Leave a Reply