The Capital Crimes series is a series of mystery novels by American novelist Margaret Truman (and Donald Bain). The series does not have a single protagonist, although there are recurring characters, including former criminal lawyer Mackensie Smith, gallery owner Annabel Reed and ex-CIA operative turned pilot Max Pauling.

The Capital Crimes series began in 1980 with Murder in the White House. Although Margaret Truman has passed on, the series continues, now written by Donald Bain. Below is a list of Margaret Truman’s Capital Crimes books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Publication Order of Capital Crimes Books

(By: Margaret Truman, Jon Land, Donald Bain)

Murder in the White House(1980)Description / Buy at
Murder on Capitol Hill(1981)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Supreme Court(1982)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Smithsonian(1983)Description / Buy at
Murder on Embassy Row(1984)Description / Buy at
Murder at the FBI(1985)Description / Buy at
Murder in Georgetown(1986)Description / Buy at
Murder in the CIA(1987)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Kennedy Center(1989)Description / Buy at
Murder at the National Cathedral(1990)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Pentagon(1992)Description / Buy at
Murder on the Potomac(1994)Description / Buy at
Murder at the National Gallery(1996)Description / Buy at
Murder in the House(1997)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Watergate(1998)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Library of Congress(1999)Description / Buy at
Murder in Foggy Bottom(2000)Description / Buy at
Murder in Havana(2001)Description / Buy at
Murder at Ford's Theatre(2002)Description / Buy at
Murder at Union Station(2004)Description / Buy at
Murder at The Washington Tribune(2005)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Opera(2006)Description / Buy at
Murder on K Street(2007)Description / Buy at
Murder Inside the Beltway(2008)Description / Buy at
Monument to Murder(2011)Description / Buy at
Experiment in Murder(2012)Description / Buy at
Undiplomatic Murder(2014)Description / Buy at
Internship in Murder(2015)Description / Buy at
Deadly Medicine(2016)Description / Buy at
Allied in Danger(2018)Description / Buy at
Murder on the Metro(2021)Description / Buy at
Murder at the CDC(2022)Description / Buy at

Note: Experiment in Murder is written by Donald Bain, based on Margaret Truman’s work.

If You Like Capital Crimes Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Capital Crimes Books

Leave a Reply