Stephanie Plum is a fictional character and series of books by American author Janet Evanovich. The character is portrayed by Katherine Heigl (pictured above) in the new movie One for the Money, based on the novel of the same name. Evanovich got the idea for a bounty hunter character from Robert De Niro in Midnight Run.

Stephanie Plum novels typically numbered (ie. One for the Money, Two for the Dough), although there are some novels that belong to the series that do not have numbers in the titles. These are referred to as the “Between the Numbers” sub-series. Below is the order of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum books by publication date and also in chronology:

Get notified when Janet Evanovich releases a new book at

Publication Order of Stephanie Plum Books

One for the Money(1994)Description / Buy at
Two for the Dough(1996)Description / Buy at
Three to Get Deadly(1997)Description / Buy at
Four to Score(1998)Description / Buy at
High Five(1999)Description / Buy at
Hot Six(2000)Description / Buy at
Seven Up(2001)Description / Buy at
Hard Eight(2002)Description / Buy at
To the Nines(2003)Description / Buy at
Ten Big Ones(2004)Description / Buy at
Eleven on Top(2005)Description / Buy at
Twelve Sharp(2006)Description / Buy at
Lean Mean Thirteen(2007)Description / Buy at
Fearless Fourteen(2008)Description / Buy at
Finger Lickin' Fifteen(2009)Description / Buy at
Sizzling Sixteen(2009)Description / Buy at
Smokin' Seventeen(2011)Description / Buy at
Explosive Eighteen(2011)Description / Buy at
Notorious Nineteen(2012)Description / Buy at
Takedown Twenty(2013)Description / Buy at
Top Secret Twenty-One(2014)Description / Buy at
Tricky Twenty-Two(2015)Description / Buy at
Turbo Twenty-Three(2016)Description / Buy at
Hardcore Twenty-Four(2017)Description / Buy at
Look Alive Twenty-Five(2018)Description / Buy at
Twisted Twenty-Six(2019)Description / Buy at
Fortune and Glory(2020)Description / Buy at
Game On(2021)Description / Buy at
Going Rogue(2022)Description / Buy at
Dirty Thirty(2023)Description / Buy at
Now or Never(2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Stephanie Plum Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Stephanie Plum Books

2 Responses to “Order of Stephanie Plum Books”

  1. mLily: 10 years ago

    Out of curiosity….how do the “between the number” series fit into the numbered ones? Do they go before or after their numbered counterparts? (example, Plum Lucky and Fearless Fourteen were both published in 2008, with no indication as to which would be first or second)

    It seems confusing to totally remove the sub series from the main series, if one wanted to read the two simultaneously.


    • Brandon: 10 years ago

      Yeah, usually I will keep them as one series, but here I think I wanted to keep them apart because of the numbering in the titles. I will go back and add them in, but until that time…

      Visions of Sugar Plums – 8.5 (between Hard Eight & To the Nines)
      Plum Lovin’ – 12.5 (between Twelve Sharp & Lean Mean Thirteen)
      Plum Lucky – 13.5 (between Lean Mean Thirteen & Fearless Fourteen)
      Plum Spooky – 14.5 (between Fearless Fourteen & Finger Lickin’ Fifteen)


Leave a Reply