Chrestomanci by Diana Wynne Jones
Chrestomanci is a series of comic children’s fantasy novels by British novelist Diana Wynne Jones. Chrestomanci is set in a multiverse that diverged at different important points in history. The title of the series comes from an office of British government that oversees the use of magic as well as Chrestomanci Castle, which is both a residence and headquarters.

Diana Wynne Jones began her Chrestomanci series in 1977 with the novel Charmed Life. The series lasted five novels and one collection, concluding with The Pinhoe Egg in 2006. Below is a list of Diana Wynne Jones’ Chrestomanci books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Chrestomanci Books

Charmed Life(1977)Description / Buy at
The Magicians of Caprona(1980)Description / Buy at
Witch Week(1982)Description / Buy at
The Lives of Christopher Chant(1988)Description / Buy at
Conrad's Fate(2005)Description / Buy at
The Pinhoe Egg(2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Chrestomanci Collections

Mixed Magics: Four Tales of Chrestomanci(2000)Description / Buy at

If You Like Chrestomanci Books, You’ll Love…

Chrestomanci Synopsis: In Charmed Life by Diana Wynne Jones (book 1 of the Chrestomanci series), everybody says that Gwendolyn Chant is a witch with gifted with great powers, so it only makes sense that she is taken to live in Chrestomanci Castle. Her brother Eric (aka Cat) doesn’t like the idea as much, due to the fact that he doesn’t have any such gift. However, life with the great enchanter is not what either of them expects and sparks begin to fly!

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Chrestomanci Books

Leave a Reply