Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander
The Chronicles of Prydain is a series of children’s high fantasy novels by American author Lloyd Alexander. The series follows Taran from a young age as he grows up throughout the novels. Taran starts out as Assistant Pig-Keeper, but has dreams of becoming a hero. The series draws strongly from Welsh mythology.

Lloyd Alexander began his Chronicles of Prydain series in 1964 with the novel The Book of Three. The final novel in the series was The High King, which was published in 1968. Also included in the series are two picture books and a collection of short stories. Below is a list of Lloyd Alexander’s Chronicles of Prydain books in order of when they were first published (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of The Chronicles of Prydain Books

The Book of Three(1964)Description / Buy at
The Black Cauldron(1965)Description / Buy at
The Castle of Llyr(1966)Description / Buy at
Taran Wanderer(1967)Description / Buy at
The High King(1968)Description / Buy at

If You Like Chronicles Of Prydain Books, You’ll Love…

Chronicles of Prydain Synopses: In the picture book Coll and His White Pig, Coll’s pig, Hen Wen, is stolen by King Arawn. Now, he must journey to Annuvi along with Ash-Wing the owl, Oak-Horn the stag and Star-Nose the mole in order to free his pig.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Chronicles Of Prydain Books

Leave a Reply