Chronicles of Barsetshire by Anthony Trollope
The Chronicles of Barsetshire is a series of novels by English author Anthony Trollope. The series is set in the cathedral town of Barchester in the county of Barsetshire, England (both of which are fictional), which is located somewhere around the West Country. The books focus on what goes on in the clergy and the gentry, including the political, amatory and social moves within them. The books are linked to Trollope’s Palliser series. The series is also known as the Barchester Chronicles.

Anthony Trollope began his Chronicles of Barsetshire series in 1855 with the novel The Warden. The series lasted for six novels, concluding with The Last Chronicle of Barset in 1867. Below is a list of Anthony Trollope’s Chronicles of Barsetshire books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Chronicles of Barsetshire Books

The Warden(1855)Description / Buy at
Barchester Towers(1857)Description / Buy at
Doctor Thorne(1858)Description / Buy at
Framley Parsonage(1861)Description / Buy at
The Small House at Allington(1864)Description / Buy at
The Last Chronicle of Barset(1867)Description / Buy at

Barsetshire Chronicles Synopsis: The first book of Anthony Trollope’s Chronicles of Barsetshire series is entitled The Warden. Mr. Harding is a clergyman with a great deal of integrity who is raking in more money than he should in donations. John Bold is looking to expose Mr. Harding for this abuse of privilege, even though he’s in love with Mr. Harding’s daughter Eleanor.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Chronicles Of Barsetshire Books

Leave a Reply