Anthony Trollope
Anthony Trollope (1815-1882) was an English author of literature. He wrote the Chronicles of Barsetshire and Palliser series. Trollope was one of the most respected novelists of his era, writing about the political, social and gender issues that were at play during the Victoria era. He was a favourite of Sir Alec Guinness (who never left home without a book of Trollope’s), multiple British Prime Ministers and contemporary American novelists Sue Grafton and Dominick Dunne. Aside from being a writer, Trollope worked for the post office.

Anthony Trollope’s first novel was The Macdermots of Ballycloran, which was written between 1843 and 1845 and published in 1847. His final published work of fiction would be the novel An Old Man’s Love, published posthumously in 1884. Below is a list of Anthony Trollope’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Chronicles of Barsetshire Books

The Warden (1855)Description / Buy at
Barchester Towers (1857)Description / Buy at
Doctor Thorne (1858)Description / Buy at
Framley Parsonage (1861)Description / Buy at
The Small House at Allington (1864)Description / Buy at
The Last Chronicle of Barset (1867)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Palliser Books

Can You Forgive Her? (1865)Description / Buy at
Phineas Finn (1869)Description / Buy at
The Eustace Diamonds (1872)Description / Buy at
Phineas Redux (1874)Description / Buy at
The Prime Minister (1876)Description / Buy at
The Duke's Children (1880)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Macdermots of Ballycloran (1847)Description / Buy at
The Kellys and the O'Kellys (1848)Description / Buy at
La Vendee (1850)Description / Buy at
The Three Clerks (1858)Description / Buy at
The Bertrams (1859)Description / Buy at
Castle Richmond (1860)Description / Buy at
Orley Farm (1862)Description / Buy at
The Struggles of Brown, Jones, and Robinson, By One of the Firm (1862)Description / Buy at
Rachel Ray (1863)Description / Buy at
Miss Mackenzie (1865)Description / Buy at
The Belton Estate (1865)Description / Buy at
The Golden Lion of Granpere (1867)Description / Buy at
The Claverings (1867)Description / Buy at
Nina Balatka (1867)Description / Buy at
Linda Tressel (1868)Description / Buy at
He Knew He Was Right (1869)Description / Buy at
The Vicar of Bullhampton (1870)Description / Buy at
Ralph the Heir (1871)Description / Buy at
Sir Harry Hotspur of Humblethwaite (1871)Description / Buy at
Lady Anna (1874)Description / Buy at
Harry Heathcote of Gangoil (1874)Description / Buy at
The Way We Live Now (1875)Description / Buy at
The American Senator (1877)Description / Buy at
The Lady of Launay (1878)Description / Buy at
Is He Popenjoy? (1878)Description / Buy at
Cousin Henry (1879)Description / Buy at
An Eye for an Eye (1879)Description / Buy at
John Caldigate (1879)Description / Buy at
The Life of Cicero, Vol. 1 (1880)Description / Buy at
The Life of Cicero, Vol. 2 (1880)Description / Buy at
Ayala's Angel (1881)Description / Buy at
Dr. Wortle's School (1881)Description / Buy at
Marion Fay (1882)Description / Buy at
The Fixed Period (1882)Description / Buy at
Kept in the Dark (1882)Description / Buy at
Mr. Scarborough's Family (1883)Description / Buy at
The Landleaguers (1883)Description / Buy at
An Old Man's Love (1884)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Relics of General Chasse: A Tale of Antwerp (1860)Description / Buy at
The Courtship Of Susan Bell (1860)Description / Buy at
An Unprotected Female At The Pyramids (1860)Description / Buy at
The Chateau Of Prince Polignac (1860)Description / Buy at
Returning Home (1861)Description / Buy at
George Walker At Suez (1861)Description / Buy at
The Parson's Daughter Of Oxney Colne (1861)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Kept His Money In A Box (1864)Description / Buy at
Mrs. General Talboys (1864)Description / Buy at
Hunting Sketches (1865)Description / Buy at
The Telegraph Girl (1877)Description / Buy at
How the (1878)Description / Buy at
Alice Dugdale (1878)Description / Buy at
The Mistletoe Bough (1883)Description / Buy at
Christmas at Thompson Hall (1893)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Complete Short Stories: Courtship and Marriage (1883)Description / Buy at
The Spotted Dog and Other Stories (1950)Description / Buy at
Mary Gresley and Other Stories (1951)Description / Buy at
Frau Frohmann and Other Stories (1978)Description / Buy at
Lotta Schmidt and Other Stories (1981)Description / Buy at
Malachi's Cove and Other Stories and Essays (1985)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The West Indies and the Spanish Main (1859)Description / Buy at
North America - Volume 1 (1861)Description / Buy at
North America - Volume 2 (1862)Description / Buy at
North America, Volume 3 (1863)Description / Buy at
Australia and New Zealand:Volume 1 (1873)Description / Buy at
Australia and New Zealand:Volume 2 (1873)Description / Buy at
South Africa, Vol. 1 (1877)Description / Buy at
South Africa, Vol. 2 (1877)Description / Buy at
An Autobiography (With: P.D. Edwards) (1883)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Anthology of Love and Romance(1994)Description / Buy at
God's Little Acre: Clerical Tales of the Countryside(2001)Description / Buy at
14 Victorian Stories: Anthology(2014)Description / Buy at
Favorite Love Stories(2017)Description / Buy at
The Greatest Books of All Time #4(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Anthony Trollope Books, You’ll Love…

Anthony Trollope Synopses: Rachel Ray by Anthony Trollope is a study of provincial life in Baslehurst, Devonshire. Mrs. Ray is a widow with two daughters, Dorothea (who is a widow herself) and Rachel, her younger sister.

Orley Farm by Anthony Trollope is about the problems with the British legal system. Trollope’s friends considered this novel to be his best.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Anthony Trollope Books

Leave a Reply