The Cluster series is a series of science fiction novels by American author Piers Anthony. Humanity has colonized an area of the galaxy called Sphere Sol. Sphere Sol is the sphere of influence of the race from the sun and it is 100 light years in diameter. There are also other spheres centered around other stars. Races colonize planets through teleportation (called “mattermission”), in freezer ships and via lifeships.

Piers Anthony began his Cluster series in 1977 with the title novel. The series would last five novels, until Viscous Circle in 1982. Below is a list of Piers Anthony’s Cluster books in order of when they were first published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Piers Anthony releases a new book at

Publication Order of Cluster Books

Cluster / Vicinity Cluster(1977)Description / Buy at
Chaining the Lady(1978)Description / Buy at
Kirlian Quest(1979)Description / Buy at
Thousandstar(1980)Description / Buy at
Viscous Circle(1982)Description / Buy at

Note: Cluster was published as Vicinity Cluster in the United Kingdom.

If You Like Cluster Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Cluster Books

3 Responses to “Order of Cluster Books”

  1. Knarfen: 11 years ago

    or XQs , as Piers might write.


  2. Knarfen: 11 years ago

    Whoops, that’s ‘Personal’. xcus pls.


  3. Knarfen: 11 years ago

    Great series in Doc Smith strain ; Widely differing species must reconcile varying standards and mores as individual beings and civilizations are akin, against back-drop of Epic Inter-Galactic Affairs. personal growth of both pro- & an-tagonists a trademark. Great b-g. details and original ideas. Linked to Anthony’s ‘Magnum Opus’, TAROT.


Leave a Reply