Cole & Hitch is a western series by American author Robert B. Parker and later by Robert Knott. “Cole” is Virgil Cole, the new marshal of the mining and ranching town of Appaloosa. “Hitch” is Everett Hitch, his deputy. Cole & Hitch was a departure for Parker, who usually wrote detective novels until his Wyatt Earp novel Gunman’s Rhapsody in 2001. The first book of the series, Appaloosa, was adapted into a film in 2008.

The Cole & Hitch series began in 2005 with Appaloosa. The final novel written by Parker in the series Blue-Eyed Devil, although the series lives on with Robert Knott as the author. Below is a list of the Cole & Hitch series in order of when the books were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Virgil Cole & Everett Hitch Books

Note: As of Ironhorse, the series is written by Robert Knott.

If You Like Cole & Hitch Books, You’ll Love…

Cole & Hitch Synopsis: Appaloosa is the story of a new marshal named Virgil Cole and his deputy Everett Hitch. It is the first book of the Cole and Hitch series by Robert B. Parker. They’re after a corrupt rancher in the town of Appaloosa who had the previous marshal and deputy killed. Are Cole and Hitch able to take the rancher in, and if they can, how long will he stay there? Appaloosa was adapted into a major motion picture starring Viggo Mortensen and Ed Harris (who directed, produced and wrote the film).

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Cole & Hitch Books

Leave a Reply