Daniel Jacobus is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American novelist Gerald Elias. Daniel Jacobus is a blind, reclusive, crotchety violin teacher in rural New England. The series gives the reader a look into the world of classical music, with its backstabbing teachers and performers, venal patrons, and shady violin dealers.

Gerald Elias began his Daniel Jacobus series with the novel Devil’s Trill, published in 2009. Below is a list of Daniel Jacobus’s Gerald Elias books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as thier chronological order):

Get notified when Gerald Elias releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Daniel Jacobus Mystery Books

Devil's Trill(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Danse Macabre(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death and the Maiden(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death and Transfiguration(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Playing with Fire(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Spring Break(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Cloudy With a Chance of Murder(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder at the Royal Albert(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Daniel Jacobus Books, You’ll Love…

Daniel Jacobus Synopsis: Devil’s Trill by Gerald Elias is the first book in the Daniel Jacobus series. Daniel Jacobus lives in self-imposed exile in rural New England. He spends his time chain smoking and berating students in the hope that they will flee. Jacobus, however, is drawn back into the world he left behind when he decides to attend the Grimsley Competition at Carnegie Hall. The winner of this competition is granted the honor of playing the “Piccolino Stradivarius,” a uniquely dazzling violin that has brought misfortune to all those who possessed it over multiple centuries. Nine–year–old Kamryn Vander wins the competition, but before she can get an opportunity to play the priceless violin, it has been stolen. Jacobus becomes the number one suspect and with the help of his friend and former musical partner Nathaniel Williams, and his new student, Yumi Shinagawa, sets out to clear his name.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Daniel Jacobus Books

Leave a Reply