Leaphorn & Chee by Tony Hillerman Anne Hillerman
Leaphorn and Chee (also known as the Navajo Mysteries) is a series of detective fiction books by American author Tony Hillerman, which has been taken over by his daughter, Anne Hillerman. “Leaphorn and Chee” refers to the series protagonists Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee of the Navajo Tribal Police. The two characters work together, but do not always agree with eachother’s viewpoints on some of the supernatural tradition of the Navajo. The Navajo Mysteries books The Dark Wind, Skinwalkers, Coyote Winds and A Thief of Time were all made into movies.

The Navajo Mysteries series began back in 1970 with The Blessing Way. In total, Hillerman wrote 18 books in the series before his death in 2008. The series is currently ongoing, although it has been inherited by his daughter, Anne Hillerman (starting with Spider Woman’s Daughter). Below is both the publication order and the chronological order of Tony Hillerman’s Leaphorn and Chee series:

Publication Order of Leaphorn & Chee Books

(By: Tony Hillerman, Anne Hillerman)

The Blessing Way(1970)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dance Hall of the Dead(1973)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Listening Woman(1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
People of Darkness(1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Dark Wind(1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Ghostway(1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Skinwalkers(1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Thief of Time(1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Talking God(1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Coyote Waits(1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sacred Clowns(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Fallen Man(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The First Eagle(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hunting Badger(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Wailing Wind(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sinister Pig(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Skeleton Man(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Shape Shifter(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Spider Woman's Daughter(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Rock with Wings(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Song of the Lion(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Cave of Bones(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Tale Teller(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Stargazer(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sacred Bridge(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Way of the Bear(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lost Birds(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: As of Spider Woman’s Daughter, the series is written by Anne Hillerman.

If You Like Leaphorn & Chee Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Leaphorn and Chee Books

Leave a Reply