Deryni by Katherine Kurtz
The Deryni universe is a series of historical fantasy novels by American novelist Katherine Kurtz. The series is set in the medieval kingdom of Gwynedd. The kingdom is populated by both humans and Deryni – a race of psychics with magical powers. Relations between the two races are tenuous, which often affects the main characters of the series.

Katherine Kurtz launched the Deryni series in 1970 with the novel Deryni Rising. The series is currently ongoing. It is broken down into several series, including the Chronicles of the Deryni, Legends of Camber of Culdi, Histories of King Kelson, Heirs of Saint Camber and the Childe Morgan Trilogy. Below is a list of Katherine Kurtz’s Deryni books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Katherine Kurtz releases a new book at

Publication Order of Chronicles Of Deryni Books

Publication Order of Deryni Books

The Deryni Archives(1986)Description / Buy at
Deryni Magic(1990)Description / Buy at
Codex Derynianus(1998)Description / Buy at
Deryni Tales(2002)Description / Buy at

Note: Codex Derynianus: Being a Comprehensive Guide to the Peoples, Places and Things of the Deryni and the Human Worlds was co-authored by Robert Reginald.

If You Like Deryni Books, You’ll Love…

Deryni Universe Synopsis: In High Deryni by Katherine Kurtz (book 1 of the Chronicles of Deryni), young King Kelson now sits on the throne in Gwynedd and the priesthood of the Eleven Kingdoms is fearing loss of power. Kelson is half Deryni, a race of human with extrasensory powers. The race ruled two centuries ago, but was dethroned and sent underground. Now, the two sides are about to break into a war, with the Church telling the people that the Deryni are essentially witches.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Deryni Books

Leave a Reply