Detective Galileo is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by Japanese novelist Keigo Higashino. Dr. Manabu Yukawa is a physicist and college professor, who is known for his intelligence. He frequently collaborates with police, who have nicknamed him Detective Galileo.

Keigo Higashino began his Detective Galileo series in 2011 with the novel The Devotion of Suspect X. The novel was made into a film in Japan, and was one of the highest grossing films in Japan that year. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Keigo Higashino’s Detective Galileo books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Keigo Higashino releases a new book at

Publication Order of Detective Galileo Books

The Devotion of Suspect X(2011)Description / Buy at
Salvation of a Saint(2012)Description / Buy at
A Midsummer's Equation(2016)Description / Buy at
Silent Parade(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Detective Galileo Books, You’ll Love…

Detective Galileo Synopsis: The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino is the first book in the Detective Galileo series. Yasuko Hanaoka is a divorced single mother who thought she had finally broken away from her abusive ex-husband Togashi. When he shows up one day to extort money from her, threatening both her and her teenaged daughter Misato, the situation quickly escalates into violence and Togashi ends up dead on her apartment floor. Overhearing the commotion, Yasuko’s next door neighbour, middle-aged high school mathematics teacher Ishigami, offers his help, disposing not only of the body but plotting the cover-up step-by-step. When the body turns up and is identified, Detective Kusanagi draws the case and Yasuko becomes a suspect. Kusanagi is unable to find any obvious holes in Yasuko’s manufactured alibi and yet is still sure that there’s something wrong. Kusanagi brings in Dr. Manabu Yukawa, a physicist and college friend who frequently consults with the police. Yukawa, known to the police by the nickname Professor Galileo, went to college with Ishigami. After meeting up with him again, Yukawa is convinced that Ishigami had something to do with the murder. What ensues is a high level battle of wits, as Ishigami tries to protect Yasuko by outmaneuvering and outthinking Yukawa, who faces his most formidible opponent yet.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Detective Galileo Books

Leave a Reply