Thora Gudmundsdottir by Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Thora Gudmundsdottir is the central character in a series of Scandinavian crime fiction novels by Icelandic novelist Yrsa Sigurdardottir. The series is set in the Icelandic capital of Reykjavik and a follows single mother Thora Gudmundsdottir’s career working as a lawyer.

Yrsa Sigurdardottir first debuted her Thora Gudmundsdottir character in Icelandic with the novel Last Rituals, originally published in 2005. The novel was translated into English and published in the United States in 2007 (and in the UK the following year). The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Yrsa Sigurdardottir’s Thora Gudmundsdottir books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Yrsa Sigurdardottir releases a new book at

Publication Order of Thora Gudmundsdottir Books

Last Rituals(2005)Description / Buy at
My Soul to Take(2006)Description / Buy at
Ashes to Dust(2007)Description / Buy at
The Day is Dark(2008)Description / Buy at
Someone to Watch Over Me(2009)Description / Buy at
The Silence of the Sea(2011)Description / Buy at

If You Like Thora Gudmundsdottir Books, You’ll Love…

Thora Gudmundsdottir Synopsis: Last Rituals is the debut of Yrsa’s character Thora Gudmundsdottir. A German student is found dead in a university, with his eyes cut out and symbols carved into his chest. Police are quick to make an arrest, but the family of the victim isn’t so sure they have their man. The family reaches out to attorney/single mother Thora Gudmundsdottir. She quickly discovers that the student had an interest in Iceland’s history of torture, executions and witch hunts, but soon she and partner Matthew Reich become endangered and no one is to be trusted.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Thora Gudmundsdottir Books

Leave a Reply