Detective Joe Sandilands by Beverly Cleverly
Detective Joe Sandilands is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery novels by British novelist Barbara Cleverly. Detective Joe Sandilands is a World War I vet who now works for Scotland Yard. He has been assigned to work in India during the 1920-30s. The character is described as tall and handsome, although he wears a permanent battle scar over one of his eyebrows.

Barbara Cleverly began her Detective Joe Sandilands series in 2001 with the novel The Last Kashmiri Rose. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Barbara Cleverly’s books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Barbara Cleverly releases a new book at

Publication Order of Detective Joe Sandilands Books

The Last Kashmiri Rose(2001)Description / Buy at
Ragtime in Simla(2002)Description / Buy at
The Damascened Blade(2003)Description / Buy at
The Palace Tiger(2004)Description / Buy at
The Bee's Kiss(2005)Description / Buy at
Tug of War(2006)Description / Buy at
Folly du Jour(2007)Description / Buy at
Strange Images of Death(2010)Description / Buy at
The Blood Royal(2011)Description / Buy at
Not My Blood(2012)Description / Buy at
A Spider in the Cup(2013)Description / Buy at
Enter Pale Death(2014)Description / Buy at
Diana's Altar(2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Detective Joe Sandilands Books, You’ll Love…

Detective Joe Sandilands Synopsis: In The Last Kashmiri Rose by Barbara Cleverly (book 1 of the series), an English woman’s body is found in a bathtub and Joe Sandilands is called in to investigate. He has seen many horrible sights, including the Western Front of the Great War and then spent six months in Culcutta, India. When he investigates this case, he quickly finds out that there have been more deaths that seem to be tied to this one. As Britain’s sovereignty begins to decline and India’s insurgency builds, Sandilands must walk the political tightrope to bring a killer to justice before he kills another victim.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Detective Joe Sandilands Books

Leave a Reply