Essalieyan by Michelle West
The Essalieyan universe represents multiple series of fantasy novels by Canadian author Michelle West. The series include The Sacred Hunt, The Sun Sword, The House War and several short stories. The universe is named for the Empire of Essalieyan, run by King Reymalyn and King Cormalyn (the Twin Kings). Its opposing kingdom is the Dominion of Annagar, which is located directly to the south.

Michelle West began her Essaliyan universe with her series The Sacred Hunt, which consists of Hunter’s Oath and Hunter’s Death, published in 1995 and 1996 respectively. The next series was The Sun Sword, which is set sixteen years after the events of The Sacred Hunt. The other series in the universe is The House War – the first three of which take place before The Sun Sword series and the rest of which take place immediately afterwards. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Michelle West’s Essalieyan universe books in order of when they were originally published (as well as in chronological order):

Get notified when Michelle West releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sacred Hunt Books

Hunter's Oath(1995)Description / Buy at
Hunter's Death(1996)Description / Buy at
The authors recommend that readers make sure to read The Sun Sword series before the fourth novel of The House War series.

Publication Order of Sun Sword Books

The Broken Crown(1997)Description / Buy at
The Uncrowned King(1998)Description / Buy at
The Shining Court(1999)Description / Buy at
The Sea of Sorrows(2001)Description / Buy at
The Riven Shield(2003)Description / Buy at
The Sun Sword(2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of House War Books

Publication Order of Essalieyan Chronicles Books

Echoes (By: Michelle West)(2011)Description / Buy at
Huntbrother (By: Michelle West)(2011)Description / Buy at
The Black Ospreys (By: Michelle West)(2011)Description / Buy at
The Weapon (By: Michelle West)(2011)Description / Buy at
Warlord (By: Michelle West)(2011)Description / Buy at
The Memory of Stone (By: Michelle West)(2011)Description / Buy at
Birthnight (By: Michelle Sagara)(2011)Description / Buy at
Gifted (By: Michelle Sagara)(2011)Description / Buy at
For the Love of God (By: Michelle Sagara)(2011)Description / Buy at
Hunger (By: Michelle Sagara)(2011)Description / Buy at
Shadow of a Change (By: Michelle Sagara)(2011)Description / Buy at

If You Like Essalieyan Books, You’ll Love…

Essalieyan Universe Synopsis: The short story Echoes by Michelle West tells the story of Kallandras’ youth in the labyrinths of the Brotherhood of Assassins.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Essalieyan Books

Leave a Reply