Foreigner Universe by CJ Cherryh
The Foreigner Universe is a series of science fiction trilogies by American novelist C.J. Cherryh. The books follow the human Bren Cameron, who works as a translator for the atevi race.

C.J. Cherryh began her Foreigner series with the title novel, which was published in 1994. The series is currently ongoing. The series is made up of five trilogies; any of the first novels in the trilogies can be used as a starting point. Below is a list of C.J. Cherryh’s Foreigner books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when C.J. Cherryh releases a new book at

Publication Order of Foreigner Books

(By: C.J. Cherryh, Jane S. Fancher)

If You Like Foreigner Books, You’ll Love…

Foreigner Synopses: Foreigner is the first novel in the Foreigner series by C.J. Cherryh. The book begins the story of the survivors of a spacecraft that crashed on the planet that is home to a hostile race of aliens.

In the novel Invader by C.J. Cherryh (book 2 in the Foreigner series), Bren Cameron is targetted by an arch-conversative faction while his own world is being threatened by a renegade starship. His only hope for survival to make communication with the renegade ship.

Defender is the sequel to the novel Precursor and the fifth novel overall in C.J. Cherryh’s Foreigner series. In the book, the alien race known as the atevi go into space travel when their only human negotiator is caught in the middle of a mutiny.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Foreigner Books

2 Responses to “Order of Foreigner Books”

  1. Connie Embury: 7 years ago

    There is a book between “Peacemaker” and “Visitor”. “Tracker” has been left off this list


  2. Mongoose218: 10 years ago

    C.J. Cherryh is a wonderful, imaginative writer…..her books are almost Science Fiction ,with some Fantasy, but in the Chanur series and the Foreigner series, my two favorites, they are sci fi, but in NO way dull or too technical or whatever it is that scares people off from sci fi…..Each series creates a believable, entire world with other races….they flow so seamlessly, without having to spell out what is what and who is who, you are dropped into the middle of these series’ characters and “live” with them…I’ve reread both series several times…..


Leave a Reply