Garrrison Gage is the protagonist in a series of hardboiled mystery novels by American author Scott William Carter. Garrison Gage is a reclusive curmudgeon of a private investigator, who after a major tragedy, leaves New York for the Oregon coast.

Scott William Carter began his Garrison Gage series in 2010 with the short story A Plunder by Pilgrims. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Scott William Carter’s Garrison Gage books in order of when tehy were originally released:

Get notified when Scott William Carter releases a new book at

Publication Order of Garrison Gage Books

The Gray and Guilty Sea(2010)Description / Buy at
A Plunder by Pilgrims(2010)Description / Buy at
A Desperate Place for Dying(2012)Description / Buy at
The Lovely Wicked Rain(2014)Description / Buy at
A Shroud of Tattered Sails(2015)Description / Buy at
A Lighthouse for the Lonely Heart(2017)Description / Buy at
Bury the Dead in Driftwood(2019)Description / Buy at
A Deep and Deadly Undertow(2020)Description / Buy at
A Cold and Shallow Shore(2022)Description / Buy at
A Kiss of Sand and Sorrow(2024)Description / Buy at
A Plunder by Pilgrims is a prequel story.

Note: The first four books in this series were written under the pen name of Jack Nolte.

If You Like Garrison Gage Books, You’ll Love…

Garrison Gage Synopsis: The Gray and Guilty Sea is the first full-length novel in the Garrison Gage series by author Scott William Carter. After his wife’s brutal murder in New York, with Gage himself being beaten half to death, the crippled private investigator retreats three thousand miles to the quaint coastal town of Barnacle Bluffs, Oregon. He spends the next five years in a convalescent stupor, content to bide his time filling out crossword puzzles and trying to forget that his wife’s death is his fault. But all that changes when he discovers the body of a young woman washed up on the beach, and his conscience draws him back into his old occupation – forcing him to confront the demons of his own guilt before he can hope to solve the girl’s murder.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Garrison Gage Books

Leave a Reply