Gideon Oliver is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American novelist Aaron Elkins. Gideon Oliver, nicknamed “The Skeleton Detective,” is a forensic anthropologist. The books are often credited with reviving the forensic mystery genre. The series was adapted (loosely) into a TV series on ABC in 1989 that ran for five episodes.

Aaron Elkins debuted his Gideon Oliver character in his own debut novel, Fellowship of Fear, which was published in 1982. The fourth installment in the series, Old Bones, won the Edgar Award for Best Mystery Novel in 1988. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Aaron Elkins’ Gideon Oliver books in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Aaron Elkins releases a new book at

Publication Order of Gideon Oliver Books

Fellowship of Fear(1982)Description / Buy at
The Dark Place(1983)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Queen's Armes(1985)Description / Buy at
Old Bones(1987)Description / Buy at
Curses!(1989)Description / Buy at
Icy Clutches(1990)Description / Buy at
Make No Bones(1991)Description / Buy at
Dead Men's Hearts(1994)Description / Buy at
Twenty Blue Devils(1997)Description / Buy at
Skeleton Dance(2000)Description / Buy at
Good Blood(2004)Description / Buy at
Where There's a Will(2005)Description / Buy at
Unnatural Selection(2006)Description / Buy at
Little Tiny Teeth(2007)Description / Buy at
Uneasy Relations(2008)Description / Buy at
Skull Duggery(2009)Description / Buy at
Dying on the Vine(2012)Description / Buy at
Switcheroo(2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Gideon Oliver Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Gideon Oliver Books

Leave a Reply