Sharon McCone is a fictional character created by American author Marcia Muller. Sharon is a private investigator and definitely paved the way for other female PIs like Kinsey Millhone, V.I. Warshawski and others.

The Sharon McCone series started in 1977 with Edwin of the Iron Shoes. The series consists of over 30 books, including two short story collections. Below is a list of Marcia Muller’s Sharon McCone books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Marcia Muller releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sharon McCone Books

Edwin of the Iron Shoes(1977)Description / Buy at
Ask the Cards a Question(1982)Description / Buy at
The Cheshire Cat's Eye(1983)Description / Buy at
Games to Keep the Dark Away(1984)Description / Buy at
Leave a Message for Willie(1984)Description / Buy at
Double(1984)Description / Buy at
There's Nothing to Be Afraid Of(1985)Description / Buy at
Eye of the Storm(1988)Description / Buy at
The Shape of Dread(1989)Description / Buy at
There's Something in a Sunday(1990)Description / Buy at
Trophies and Dead Things(1990)Description / Buy at
Where Echoes Live(1991)Description / Buy at
Pennies On a Dead Woman's Eyes(1992)Description / Buy at
Wolf in the Shadows(1993)Description / Buy at
Till the Butchers Cut Him Down(1994)Description / Buy at
A Wild and Lonely Place(1995)Description / Buy at
The Broken Promise Land(1996)Description / Buy at
Both Ends of the Night(1997)Description / Buy at
While Other People Sleep(1998)Description / Buy at
A Walk Through the Fire(1999)Description / Buy at
Listen to the Silence(2000)Description / Buy at
Dead Midnight(2002)Description / Buy at
The Dangerous Hour(2004)Description / Buy at
Vanishing Point(2006)Description / Buy at
The Ever-Running Man(2007)Description / Buy at
Burn Out(2008)Description / Buy at
Locked In(2009)Description / Buy at
Coming Back(2010)Description / Buy at
City of Whispers(2011)Description / Buy at
Looking for Yesterday(2012)Description / Buy at
Skeleton in the Closet(2012)Description / Buy at
The Night Searchers(2014)Description / Buy at
Merrill-Go-Round(2014)Description / Buy at
Tell Me Who I Am(2016)Description / Buy at
Someone Always Knows(2016)Description / Buy at
The Color of Fear(2017)Description / Buy at
The Breakers(2018)Description / Buy at
Ice and Stone(2021)Description / Buy at
Circle in the Water(2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sharon McCone Collections

The McCone Files(1995)Description / Buy at
McCone and Friends(1999)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sharon McCone Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sharon McCone Books

Leave a Reply