The Inheritance Cycle is a tetralogy of young adult epic fantasy novels by American novelist Christopher Paolini. The series is set in Alagaesia, a world inhabited by humans, elves, dwarves, dragons, werecats and other races. The main character is named Eragon who has a dragon named Saphira who are attempting to overthrow the evil king Galbatorix. The first novel of the series was adapted to film, grossing $250 million. However, due to negative reviews, there are no plans to continue the series.

The Inheritance Cycle began in 2001 with the novel Eragon. The series concluded with the four novel in the series, Inheritance, published in 2011. Below is a list of Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance Cycle novels in order of when they were originally released (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Christopher Paolini releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Inheritance Cycle Books

If You Like Inheritance Cycle Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Inheritance Cycle Books

Leave a Reply