The Isabel Dalhousie series (also known as the Sunday Philosophy Club Series) is a series of mystery novels by Scottish novelist Alexander McCall Smith. The series is more like a mystery series than Smith’s No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series. Isabel Dalhouse has been described as a mix between Jane Austen‘s Emma and Carrie Bradshaw. The series is set in Edinburgh.

Isabel Dalhousie made her debut in The Sunday Philosophy Club back in 2004. Below is a list of all of the Sunday Philosophy Club books in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Alexander McCall Smith releases a new book at

Publication Order of Isabel Dalhousie Books

The Sunday Philosophy Club(2004)Description / Buy at
Friends, Lovers, Chocolate(2005)Description / Buy at
The Right Attitude to Rain(2006)Description / Buy at
The Careful Use of Compliments(2007)Description / Buy at
The Comforts of a Muddy Saturday / The Comfort Of Saturdays(2008)Description / Buy at
The Lost Art of Gratitude(2009)Description / Buy at
The Charming Quirks of Others(2010)Description / Buy at
The Forgotten Affairs of Youth(2011)Description / Buy at
The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds(2012)Description / Buy at
The Novel Habits of Happiness(2015)Description / Buy at
A Distant View of Everything(2017)Description / Buy at
The Quiet Side of Passion(2018)Description / Buy at
The Geometry of Holding Hands(2020)Description / Buy at
The Sweet Remnants of Summer(2022)Description / Buy at
The Conditions of Unconditional Love(2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Isabel Dalhousie Short Stories/Novellas

The Perils of Morning Coffee(2011)Description / Buy at
At the Reunion Buffet(2015)Description / Buy at
Sweet, Thoughtful Valentine(2016)Description / Buy at

Note: The Comfort of Saturdays was published as The Comforts of a Muddy Saturday in the United States.

If You Like Isabel Dalhousie, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Isabel Dalhousie Books

Leave a Reply