James Asher by Barbara Hambly
James Asher is the protagonist in a series of historical/urban fantasy novels by American novelist Barbara Hambly. Dr. James Asher is a former spy for Queen Victoria who has retired into private life. In order to save his wife’s life from a vampire named Don Simon, he takes a job hunting vampires. The series is also known as the Vampire series.

Barbara Hambly began her James Asher series in 1988 with the novel Those Who Hunt the Night. After a 15 year hiatus following Traveling with the Dead, Hambly resurrected this series with the 2010 novel Blood Maidens. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Barbara Hambly’s James Asher books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Barbara Hambly releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of James Asher Books

Those Who Hunt the Night(1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Traveling with the Dead(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Blood Maidens(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Magistrates of Hell(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Kindred of Darkness(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Darkness on his Bones(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Pale Guardian(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Prisoner of Midnight(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: Immortal Blood was also published as Those Who Hunt the Night.

If You Like James Asher Books, You’ll Love…

James Asher/Vampire Synopsis: In Those Who Hunt the Night by Barbara Hambly (book 1 of the series), James Asher is a former Secret Service agent who has fought for his country on every continent. Now he is retired and married, living a much quieter life as an Oxford academic. That is until a Spanish vampire named Don Simon Ysidro, the oldest vampire in London, threatens his wife’s life in order to get Dr. Asher to assist him in finding a vampire killer.

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of James Asher Books

Leave a Reply