American author Alex Berenson has penned the excellent series of books starring CIA agent John Wells.

The John Wells books feature undercover CIA agent John Wells, and take place after September 11th. The books are a great series of spy fiction novels, and if you’re into espionage books you’ll no doubt love John Wells.

The order of the John Wells books, in publication and chronological order, is:

Get notified when Alex Berenson releases a new book at

Publication Order of John Wells Books

The Faithful Spy(2006)Description / Buy at
The Ghost War(2008)Description / Buy at
The Silent Man(2009)Description / Buy at
The Midnight House(2010)Description / Buy at
The Secret Soldier(2011)Description / Buy at
The Shadow Patrol(2012)Description / Buy at
The Night Ranger(2013)Description / Buy at
The Counterfeit Agent(2014)Description / Buy at
Twelve Days(2015)Description / Buy at
The Wolves(2016)Description / Buy at
The Prisoner(2017)Description / Buy at
The Deceivers(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like John Wells Books, You’ll Love…

John Wells Synopses: The Faithful Spy is the first John Wells novel by Alex Berenson. The only American CIA agent to ever penetrate al Qaeda is John Wells. Wells has been building his cover in the mountains of Pakistan since the 2001 attacks. He has been hiding there to wait his turn.

Wells is now returning home on the orders of Omar Khadri, the evil mastermind who is planning additional al Qaeda attacks on the United States. Khadri and Jennifer Exley, Wells’ superior at Langley, are unsure of what to anticipate.

Because Wells has evolved over his time in the mountains. He has converted to Islam. He thinks that the United States is shallow and debauched. However, he despises al Qaeda and the ways in which it uses Islam to justify the murderous attacks on innocent people. The CIA, still reeling from its failure to predict 9/11 or locate weapons of mass destruction in Iraq, is unsure whether to trust him because he is a single man. Exley is the only one of his handlers at Langley who has faith in him, and even she sometimes wonders about it. As a result, the agency excludes Wells and prefers to gather intelligence through high-tech methods.

But Wells and Exley must find a way to stop Khadri, with or without the government’s approval, as that strategy fails and Khadri gets closer to carrying out the worst terrorist attack in history.

The Ghost War by Alex Berenson is the second book in the John Wells series. When it was thought that John Wells had become too close to the terrorists, he barely made it to his homecoming. His wounds have healed, but his mind is not completely clear. He must return to the fight. And he is in for a fight.

The world is in chaos as a result of a China power play. And even though Wells is doing what he does best, a shady member of the CIA is getting ready to light the final fuse that will send a world that doesn’t know it into open war and annihilation. And John Wells might not be able to stop it this time…

The Silent Man is the third book in Alex Berenson’s John Wells series. John Wells feels that the underworld is now more real than the real world. He has been close to evil men for many years. He has also paid the price in every way imaginable. He is now on the verge of burnout. Twisted dreams plague his nights. He has every right to wonder if he will ever be able to live a normal life.

Wells must once more enter the fray when he is discovered by a powerful adversary from his past, his nation, and in his spirit.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of John Wells Books

5 Responses to “Order of John Wells Books”

  1. Rob hiles: 6 years ago

    Alex Berenson is a great writer and I love the John Wells Character.
    Very glad to see that when he needed a cover he chose a Rhodesian. Well done.


  2. Judith Narayan: 9 years ago

    do we have to read the books in order or can I read them randomly?


    • Graeme: 9 years ago

      You COULD read them randomly no problem – but it’s recommended you read in order. Things in certain books will relate to previous books, character growth and relationships etc.


    • Rick Duerr: 7 years ago

      Absolutely read them in order. There are so many things that are a part of who John Wells was, is and will become. This is one of the very best series “spy” novels I have read. I read roughly 3 books per week and while they are mostly brain fodder, reading has given me a place to escape to. I have gained a healthy knowledge of the hard work it takes to write a great novel compared to just putting in the time. Wherever possible read all series in order even though some may not matter. This author is a gifted writer. Thanks, Alex Berenson!


      • Graeme: 7 years ago

        Agreed – absolutely incredible series. What I liked when I read them back to back was that Berenson was great with catching the reader up. With writers like Vince Flynn I found he’d introduce a recurring character and basically copy/paste what he’d written the previous book about them. Berenson did it in a way that it’d catch up any new reader but wrote it new for us who were reading in order etc.


Leave a Reply