Kenzie/Gennaro is a series of crime fiction novels by American novelist Dennis Lehane. The series features Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro, who started out as childhood friends and eventually became private eyes, running their own detective agency in Boston. They have an on-again, off-again relationship as “more than friends,” but still manage to work together as partners.

Dennis Lehane’s Kenzie/Gennaro series began in 1994 with his debut novel A Drink Before the War. Since then there have been several follow-ups in the series, but Lehane did take an 11 year break from the series between Prayers for Rain in 1999 and Moonlight Mile in 2010. Below is a list of Dennis Lehane’s Kenzie/Gennaro books in order of when they were published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Dennis Lehane releases a new book at

Publication Order of Kenzie & Gennaro Books

A Drink Before the War(1994)Description / Buy at
Darkness, Take My Hand(1996)Description / Buy at
Sacred(1997)Description / Buy at
Gone, Baby, Gone(1998)Description / Buy at
Prayers for Rain(1999)Description / Buy at
Moonlight Mile(2010)Description / Buy at

If You Like Kenzie/Gennaro Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Kenzie/Gennaro Books

Leave a Reply