The Lymond Chronicles is a series of six historical fiction novels by Scottish novelist Dorothy Dunnett. The series is set during the 16th century across Europe, following the adventures of Francis Crawford of Lymond. Although the main character and many other characters in the series are fictional, the series also contains many historical characters. The series is preceded by Dorothy Dunnett’s House of Niccolo series.

Dorothy Dunnett began her Lymond Chronicles series in 1961 on a suggestion from her husband after she had complained about having nothing left to read. The series begins with the novel The Game of Kings and ended in 1975 with Checkmate. Below is a list of Dorothy Dunnett’s Lymond Chronicles books in order of publication and in chronological order:

Publication Order of The Lymond Chronicles Books

The Game of Kings(1961)Description / Buy at
Queens' Play(1964)Description / Buy at
The Disorderly Knights(1966)Description / Buy at
Pawn in Frankincense(1969)Description / Buy at
The Ringed Castle(1971)Description / Buy at
Checkmate(1975)Description / Buy at
Order of Books » Characters » Order of Lymond Chronicles Books

Leave a Reply