Maggie MacGowen by Wendy Hornsby
Maggie MacGowen is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American novelist Wendy Hornsby. Maggie MacGowen is a documentary filmmaker/amateur sleuth based in Los Angeles, California.

Wendy Hornsby began her Maggie MacGowen series in 1992 with the novel Telling Lies. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Wendy Hornsby’s Maggie MacGowen books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Wendy Hornsby releases a new book at

Publication Order of A Maggie MacGowen Mystery Books

Telling Lies(1992)Description / Buy at
Midnight Baby(1993)Description / Buy at
Bad Intent(1994)Description / Buy at
77th Street Requiem(1995)Description / Buy at
A Hard Light(1997)Description / Buy at
In the Guise of Mercy(2009)Description / Buy at
The Paramour's Daughter(2010)Description / Buy at
The Hanging(2012)Description / Buy at
The Color of Light(2014)Description / Buy at
Disturbing the Dark(2016)Description / Buy at
Number 7, Rue Jacob(2018)Description / Buy at
A Bouquet of Rue(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Maggie MacGowen Books, You’ll Love…

Maggie MacGowen Synopses: Telling Lies by Wendy Hornsby is the first book in the Maggie MacGowen series. When her medical crusading sister, Emily, is mysteriously shot to death in a Los Angeles alley and the evidence shows that the shooting was not random, Maggie MacGowen must piece together the murder piece by piece. The trail leads to Emily’s past as a radical decades earlier.

Midnight Baby is the second Maggie MacGowen novel from Wendy Hornsby. Maggie MacGowen’s investigation into the murder of a young prostitute takes her from the mean streets of Los Angeles to a posh suburb.

In Bad Intent by Wendy Hornsby (book 3 of the series), Maggie MacGowen looks into the set up of three police officers by a politician.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Maggie MacGowen Books

Leave a Reply