Sheriff Dan Rhodes is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American author Bill Crider. The series is set in small-town Texas, where Sheriff Rhodes lives alongside some strange people who sometimes commit some strange crimes.

The Dan Rhodes series began in 1986 with the novel Too Late to Die. It won the Anthony Award for Best First Novel. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Bill Crider’s Dan Rhodes books in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Sheriff Dan Rhodes Books

Too Late to Die(1986)Description / Buy at
Shotgun Saturday Night(1987)Description / Buy at
Cursed to Death(1988)Description / Buy at
Death on the Move(1989)Description / Buy at
Evil at the Root(1990)Description / Buy at
Booked for a Hanging(1992)Description / Buy at
Murder Most Fowl(1994)Description / Buy at
Winning Can Be Murder(1996)Description / Buy at
Death by Accident(1998)Description / Buy at
A Ghost of a Chance(2000)Description / Buy at
A Romantic Way to Die(2001)Description / Buy at
Red, White, and Blue Murder(2003)Description / Buy at
A Mammoth Murder(2006)Description / Buy at
Murder Among the OWLS(2007)Description / Buy at
Of All Sad Words(2008)Description / Buy at
Murder in Four Parts(2009)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Air(2010)Description / Buy at
The Wild Hog Murders(2011)Description / Buy at
Murder of a Beauty Shop Queen(2012)Description / Buy at
Compound Murder(2013)Description / Buy at
Half in Love with Artful Death(2014)Description / Buy at
Between the Living and the Dead(2015)Description / Buy at
Survivors Will Be Shot Again(2016)Description / Buy at
Dead, to Begin With(2017)Description / Buy at
That Old Scoundrel Death(2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sheriff Dan Rhodes Collections

(By: Bill Crider, Judy Crider)

The Blacklin County Files(2012)Description / Buy at

Note: The Blackline County Files is co-authored with Judy Crier.

If You Like Sheriff Dan Rhodes Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Dan Rhodes Books

Leave a Reply