Maggie Newberry is the protagonist in a series of cozy mystery novels by American novelist Susan Kiernan-Lewis. Maggie Newberry is an American living in the south of France on a vineyard, and makes her living as a copywriter. That said, this series is not about her writing advertising copy – it’s about her acting as an amateur sleuth.

Susan Kiernan-Lewis began her Maggie Newberry series in 2001 with the novel Murder On the Cote d’Azur, which later became Murder in the South of France. Below is a list of Susan Kiernan-Lewis’s Maggie Newberry books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Susan Kiernan-Lewis releases a new book at

Publication Order of Maggie Newberry Mysteries Books

Murder On the Cote d’Azur/ Murder in the South of France(2001)Description / Buy at
Toujours Dead / Murder à la Carte(2001)Description / Buy at
Murder in Provence(2011)Description / Buy at
Murder in Paris(2013)Description / Buy at
Murder in Aix(2013)Description / Buy at
Murder in Nice(2014)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Latin Quarter(2016)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Abbey(2016)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Bistro(2016)Description / Buy at
A Provençal Christmas(2016)Description / Buy at
Murder in Cannes(2017)Description / Buy at
Murder in Grenoble(2018)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Vineyard(2018)Description / Buy at
A Thanksgiving in Provence(2018)Description / Buy at
Murder in Arles(2019)Description / Buy at
Murder in Marseille(2019)Description / Buy at
Murder in Saint-Rémy(2019)Description / Buy at
Murder à la Mode(2020)Description / Buy at
Murder in Avignon(2020)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Lavender(2021)Description / Buy at
Murder in Mont St-Michel(2021)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Village(2022)Description / Buy at
Murder in St-Tropez(2022)Description / Buy at
Murder in Grasse(2023)Description / Buy at
Murder in Monaco(2023)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Villa(2023)Description / Buy at
Murder in Montmartre(2024)Description / Buy at
Murder in Toulouse(2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Maggie Newberry Books, You’ll Love…

Maggie Newberry Synopses: Murder in the South of France is the first Maggie Newberry novel by Susan Kiernan-Lewis. Maggie Newberry works as an advertising copywriter. Now she’s a little stunned to realize that she’s over 30 and still hasn’t found her match. When her long missing sister ends up dead, Maggie flies to the south of France to find the little niece that no one in the family even knew existed. Along the way, she finds handsome, sexy Frenchman Laurent Dernier to help search for the girl. Meanwhile, her sister’s murderer sets his sights on the little girl – and Maggie.

Murder a la Carte is the second Maggie Newberry novel from author Susan Kiernan-Lewis. When her boyfriend inherits an ancient vineyard in France, Maggie Newberry quits her job in Atlanta to accompany him for a year abroad. They settle in the tiny village of St-Buvard, but murder has gone long before them and follows close behind. Atlanta copywriter Maggie Newberry is brought to the brink of two connected murders – both committed in her home – and both threatening to ruin everything she holds dear. When Maggie agrees to move to France with her boyfriend – a French ex-confidence man who has just inherited a house and vineyard—she doesn’t expect her year of French market shopping and weekend trips to Paris to be interrupted by a vicious murder in her living room. Or that the bloody violence that occurred on their front doorstep sixty years earlier after the end of the Second World War might be connected.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Maggie Newberry Books

Leave a Reply