The Mike Shayne Mysteries/Michael Shayne series is written by Brett Halliday. The name Brett Halliday is actually a pen name used by Davis Dresser.

The author was born in Chicago and grew up in Texas. At the age of 14, he ran away from home and joined the U.S. 5th Cavalry Regiment. He then worked in Border Patrol before returning to school. He wrote the first Michael Shayne and saw it get rejected by over twenty publishers before being accepted. The series went on to be one of the biggest successes of his career. The character would go on to appear in twelve films, a radio series, and an NBC television series.

Publication Order of Michael Shayne Books

Dividend on Death(1939)Description / Buy at
The Private Practice of Michael Shayne(1940)Description / Buy at
The Uncomplaining Corpses(1940)Description / Buy at
Tickets for Death(1941)Description / Buy at
Bodies Are Where You Find Them(1941)Description / Buy at
The Case of the Walking / Corpse Came Calling(1943)Description / Buy at
Murder Wears a Mummer's Mask / In a Deadly Vein(1943)Description / Buy at
Blood on the Black Market(1943)Description / Buy at
Michael Shayne's Long Chance(1944)Description / Buy at
Murder and the Married Virgin(1944)Description / Buy at
Murder is My Business(1945)Description / Buy at
Marked For Murder(1945)Description / Buy at
Blood on Biscayne Bay(1946)Description / Buy at
Counterfeit Wife(1947)Description / Buy at
Blood on the Stars / Murder Is a Habit(1948)Description / Buy at
A Taste for Violence(1949)Description / Buy at
Call for Michael Shayne(1949)Description / Buy at
This is it, Michael Shayne(1950)Description / Buy at
Framed in Blood(1951)Description / Buy at
When Dorinda Dances(1951)Description / Buy at
A Taste for Cognac(1951)Description / Buy at
What Really Happened(1952)Description / Buy at
One Night with Nora / The Lady Came By Night(1953)Description / Buy at
She Woke to Darkness(1954)Description / Buy at
Death Has Three Lives(1955)Description / Buy at
Stranger in Town(1955)Description / Buy at
The Blonde Cried Murder(1956)Description / Buy at
Heads You Lose(1956)Description / Buy at
Weep for a Blonde(1957)Description / Buy at
Shoot the works(1957)Description / Buy at
Murder and the Wanton Bride(1958)Description / Buy at
Fit to Kill(1958)Description / Buy at
Date with a Dead Man(1959)Description / Buy at
Target(1959)Description / Buy at
Die Like A Dog(1959)Description / Buy at
Murder Takes No Holiday(1960)Description / Buy at
Dolls Are Deadly(1960)Description / Buy at
The Homicidal Virgin(1960)Description / Buy at
Killers from the Keys(1961)Description / Buy at
Murder in Haste(1961)Description / Buy at
The Careless Corpse(1961)Description / Buy at
Pay-Off in Blood(1962)Description / Buy at
Murder by Proxy(1962)Description / Buy at
Never Kill a Client(1962)Description / Buy at
Too Friendly, Too Dead(1962)Description / Buy at
The Corpse That Never Was(1963)Description / Buy at
The Body Came Back(1963)Description / Buy at
A Redhead(1964)Description / Buy at
Shoot to Kill(1964)Description / Buy at
The Violent World of Michael Shayne(1965)Description / Buy at
Nice Fillies Finish Last(1965)Description / Buy at
Murder Spins the Wheel(1966)Description / Buy at
Armed... Dangerous...(1966)Description / Buy at
Mermaid on the Rocks(1967)Description / Buy at
Guilty as Hell(1967)Description / Buy at
So Lush, So Deadly(1968)Description / Buy at
Lady, be Bad(1969)Description / Buy at
Six Seconds to Kill(1970)Description / Buy at
Fourth Down to Death(1970)Description / Buy at
Count Backwards to Zero(1971)Description / Buy at
I Come To Kill You(1971)Description / Buy at
Caught Dead(1972)Description / Buy at
Kill All the Young Girls(1973)Description / Buy at
Blue Murder(1973)Description / Buy at
Last Seen Hitchhiking(1974)Description / Buy at
At The Point of A .38(1974)Description / Buy at
Million Dollar Handle(1976)Description / Buy at
Win Some, Lose Some(1976)Description / Buy at

If You Like Michael Shayne Books, You’ll Love…

Dividend on Death is the first book in the Mike Shayne Mysteries series. The story begins with Shayne pouring himself a drink when Phyllis Brighton tries to jump out of the window of his apartment. He manages to block her before she does. The woman warned him that she was crazy, but Mike didn’t believe her. Her doctor and stepfather believe that she is suffering from a deadly obsession with her mother. Shayne agrees to help keep Phyllis from killing her mother. That doesn’t stop her mother from dying though, being stabbed in the back with a knife. Everyone thinks Phyllis is guilty, but Shayne isn’t so sure and he sets out to prove it.

Another good book in the series is called The Corpse Came Calling. In this book, Shayne is on the hot seat as he is accused of homicide. An old friend named Jim wants to meet him and heads to his office, but the man is dying as he walks in and dies on the office floor. The police think he did it, but he’ll look to clear his name and find out who really did it.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Michael Shayne Books

Leave a Reply