Monk by Lee Goldberg
Monk is a series of television tie-in mystery novels by American author Lee Goldberg and Hy Conrad. The novels are based on the comedy/drama series starring Tony Shalhoub that ran for eight seasons for a total of 125 original episodes. The title character’s full name is Adrian Monk (played by Shalhoub), who worked for the San Francisco Police Department until his wife was killed in a car bombing that he believed was meant for him. This incident caused him to have a breakdown (amplifying his OCD), leading to him eventually working as a private detective.

The Monk TV tie-in series began in 2006 with the novel Mr. Monk Goes to the Fire House. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of the Monk books in order of when they were first released (which is also their chronology):

Get notified when Lee Goldberg releases a new book at

Publication Order of Monk Books

(By: Lee Goldberg, Hy Conrad)

Mr. Monk Goes to the Firehouse(2006)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk Goes to Hawaii(2006)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk and The Blue Flu(2007)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk and The Two Assistants(2007)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk in Outer Space(2007)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk Goes to Germany(2008)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk is Miserable(2008)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk and the Dirty Cop(2009)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk in Trouble(2009)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk is Cleaned Out(2010)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk on the Road(2010)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk on the Couch(2011)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk on Patrol(2012)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk is a Mess(2012)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk Gets Even(2012)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk Helps Himself(2013)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk Gets on Board(2014)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk is Open for Business(2014)Description / Buy at
Mr. Monk and the New Lieutenant(2015)Description / Buy at

Note: Mr. Monk Helps Himself and Mr. Monk Gets on Board were written by Hy Conrad. All other Monk novels thus far were written by Lee Goldberg.

If You Like Monk Books, You’ll Love…

Monk Synopsis: Mr. Monk Goes to the Firehouse by Lee Goldberg is the first book in the Monk series. Monk’s house is being fumigated and he’s looking for a place to stay. His assistant, Natatlie, and her daughter offer to let him stay over… but their house isn’t quite as clean as Monk would be comfortable with. Meanwhile, a firehouse’s dog dies mysteriously on the same night as a fatal house fire, giving Monk a mystery to solve.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Monk Books

One Response to “Order of Monk Books”

  1. Mojave Son: 10 years ago

    I love the Mr. Monk series and have read them all. But I think the books written by Lee Goldberg are better than the ones by Hy Conrad.


Leave a Reply