Murder She Wrote by Donald Bain Jessica Fletcher
Murder, She Wrote is a TV-tie in mystery novel series by Donald Bain and Jessica Fletcher, who is the protagonist of the series. The books are based on the television series Murder, She Wrote, which starred Angela Lansbury and ran from 1984-1996 on CBS. The series includes 264 episodes and 4 TV movies. Jessica Fletcher is a mystery writer and amateur sleuth, who worked as a teacher before she retired. She lives in Cabot Cove, a small coastal town in Maine that has a murder rate of 1,490 for every million residents, making it the undisputed murder capitol of the world.

The Murder, She Wrote book series began in 1989 with the novel Gin and Daggers. The series is currently ongoing. Each novel is essentially its own story and thus, the books do not need to be read in order. Below is a list of Donald Bain and Jessica Fletcher’s Murder, She Wrote novels in order of when they were originally released (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Jon Land releases a new book at

Publication Order of Murder, She Wrote Books

The Murder of Sherlock Holmes(1985)Description / Buy at
Hooray for Homicide(1985)Description / Buy at
Lovers and Other Killers(1986)Description / Buy at
Gin & Daggers(1989)Description / Buy at
Manhattans & Murder(1994)Description / Buy at
Rum & Razors(1995)Description / Buy at
Brandy and Bullets(1995)Description / Buy at
Martinis & Mayhem(1995)Description / Buy at
A Deadly Judgment(1996)Description / Buy at
A Palette for Murder(1996)Description / Buy at
The Highland Fling Murders(1997)Description / Buy at
Murder on the QE2(1997)Description / Buy at
Murder in Moscow(1998)Description / Buy at
A Little Yuletide Murder(1998)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Powderhorn Ranch(1999)Description / Buy at
Knock 'em Dead(1999)Description / Buy at
Trick or Treachery(2000)Description / Buy at
Blood on the Vine(2001)Description / Buy at
Murder in a Minor Key(2001)Description / Buy at
Provence to Die for(2002)Description / Buy at
You Bet Your Life(2002)Description / Buy at
Majoring In Murder(2003)Description / Buy at
Destination Murder(2003)Description / Buy at
Dying to Retire(2004)Description / Buy at
A Vote for Murder(2004)Description / Buy at
The Maine Mutiny(2005)Description / Buy at
Margaritas and Murder(2005)Description / Buy at
A Question of Murder(2006)Description / Buy at
Three Strikes and You're Dead(2006)Description / Buy at
Coffee, Tea, or Murder?(2007)Description / Buy at
Panning for Murder(2007)Description / Buy at
Murder on Parade(2008)Description / Buy at
A Slaying in Savannah(2008)Description / Buy at
Madison Avenue Shoot(2009)Description / Buy at
A Fatal Feast(2009)Description / Buy at
Nashville Noir(2010)Description / Buy at
The Queen's Jewels(2010)Description / Buy at
Skating on Thin Ice(2011)Description / Buy at
The Fine Art of Murder(2011)Description / Buy at
Trouble at High Tide(2012)Description / Buy at
Domestic Malice(2012)Description / Buy at
Prescription for Murder(2013)Description / Buy at
Close-up on Murder(2013)Description / Buy at
Aloha Betrayed(2014)Description / Buy at
Death of a Blue Blood(2014)Description / Buy at
Killer in the Kitchen(2015)Description / Buy at
The Ghost and Mrs Fletcher(2015)Description / Buy at
Design For Murder(2016)Description / Buy at
Hook, Line, and Murder(2016)Description / Buy at
A Date with Murder(2018)Description / Buy at
Manuscript for Murder(2019)Description / Buy at
Murder in Red(2019)Description / Buy at
A Time for Murder(2019)Description / Buy at
The Murder of Twelve(2020)Description / Buy at
Murder In Season(2020)Description / Buy at
Killing in a Koi Pond(2021)Description / Buy at
Debonair in Death(2021)Description / Buy at
Killer on the Court(2022)Description / Buy at
Death on the Emerald Isle(2023)Description / Buy at
Murder She Wrote Killer On Thecourt(2023)Description / Buy at
Fit for Murder(2024)Description / Buy at
Murder Backstage(2024)Description / Buy at
A Killer Christmas(2024)Description / Buy at

Note: From The Ghost and Mrs. Fletcher until Hook, Line and Murder, the series was been co-authored by Renee Paley-Bain. Beginning with A Date with Murder, the series has been written by Jon Land.

If You Like Murder, She Wrote Books, You’ll Love…

Murder, She Wrote Synopses: Gin and Daggers is the first Murder, She Wrote novel by Donald Bain. Jessica Fletcher is looking forward to giving a keynote address at a mystery writers convention in London, as well as meeting up with her mentor, author Marjorie Ainsworth. But the mystery author becomes a victim herself when Jessica finds Marjorie stabbed to death.

Manhattans & Murder is book 2 in the Murder, She Wrote television tie-in series by Donald Bain. While promoting her newest book, Jessica comes across Santa Claus. Well, he’s not actually Father Christmas, but a former drug smuggler in disguise. She sets up an interview with him, but Kris Kringle is found dead before the interview can happen. A lot of people may have wanted jolly ol’ St. Nick dead, but who could it have been?

Rum & Razors is the third book in the Murder, She Wrote series by Donald Bain. Laurie and Walter Marshalk are a couple of hotel owners who are currently experiencing financial difficulties. When Walter is found dead unexpectedly, could it have been a rival hotel owner?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Murder, She Wrote Books

Leave a Reply