Murphy by Gary Paulsen
Murphy is a series of western novels for young adults by American author Gary Paulsen. Later the series was co-authored with Brian Burks. The protagonist is Al Murphy, sheriff of Cincerville. Although the series was intended for young adults, the books aren’t unfit for adults to read.

Gary Paulsen started the Murphy series with Murphy, which he published in 1987. Brian Burks started co-authoring the series with the novel Murphy’s Stand, which is the fifth book in the series. The series lasted seven books, concluding with Murphy’s Trail in 1996. Below is a list of Gary Paulsen’s Murphy books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Murphy Books

Notes: Murphy’s Stand, Murphy’s Ambush and Murphy’s Trail were co-authored with Brian Burks.

If You Like Murphy Books, You’ll Love…

Murphy Synopses: Murphy’s Gold by Gary Paulsen is the second book in the Murphy series. Al Murphy is asked by a woman to go find her husband. He goes out to look for him and finds him dead. Now, Murphy must avenge the man’s death…

Murphy’s Stand by Gary Paulsen and Brian Burks is book 5 in the Murphy series. Al Murphy is drifting and drinking after the death of his wife. When he witnesses a murder along the way, he goes with the sheriff to meet with the victim’s sister. The sister, Christine, believes a rival merchant named Gibson got her brother murdered. Murphy takes the job to take Gibson out. The novel is perfect for both adults and young adults.

Murphy’s Ambush by Gary Paulsen and Brian Burks is book 6 in the Murphy series. Murphy thought he left the life of a lawman behind when he quit as sheriff in Cincherville, but in New Mexico, he finds himself looking a new badge. Now, Al Murphy is going after a murderous gang who killed a racher’s wife and daughter.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Murphy Books

Leave a Reply