The Nameless Detective series is a detective fiction series by American author Bill Pronzini. Pronzini’s character has no name, is sort of an everyman character – middle-aged, out-of-shape and a couch potato.

Bill Pronzini began his Nameless Detective series with The Snatch in 1971. After nearly 40 novels (plus plenty of short stories), the series is still ongoing. Below is a list of Bill Pronzini’s Nameless Detective books in order of when they were first published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Bill Pronzini releases a new book at

Publication Order of Nameless Detective Books

The Snatch(1971)Description / Buy at
The Vanished(1973)Description / Buy at
Undercurrent(1973)Description / Buy at
Blowback(1977)Description / Buy at
Twospot(1978)Description / Buy at
Labyrinth(1980)Description / Buy at
Hoodwink(1981)Description / Buy at
Scattershot(1982)Description / Buy at
Dragonfire(1982)Description / Buy at
Bindlestiff(1983)Description / Buy at
Quicksilver(1984)Description / Buy at
Nightshades(1984)Description / Buy at
Double(1984)Description / Buy at
Bones(1985)Description / Buy at
Deadfall(1986)Description / Buy at
Shackles(1989)Description / Buy at
Jackpot(1990)Description / Buy at
Breakdown(1991)Description / Buy at
Quarry(1991)Description / Buy at
Epitaphs(1992)Description / Buy at
Demons(1993)Description / Buy at
Hardcase(1995)Description / Buy at
Sentinels(1996)Description / Buy at
Illusions(1997)Description / Buy at
Boobytrap(1998)Description / Buy at
Crazybone(2000)Description / Buy at
Bleeders(2001)Description / Buy at
Spook(2002)Description / Buy at
Nightcrawlers(2005)Description / Buy at
Mourners(2006)Description / Buy at
Savages(2007)Description / Buy at
Fever(2008)Description / Buy at
Schemers(2009)Description / Buy at
Betrayers(2010)Description / Buy at
Camouflage(2011)Description / Buy at
Hellbox(2012)Description / Buy at
Nemesis(2013)Description / Buy at
Strangers(2014)Description / Buy at
Vixen(2015)Description / Buy at
Zigzag(2016)Description / Buy at
Endgame(2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Nameless Detective Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Nameless Detective Collections

Note: Twospot was co-authored with Collin Wilcox. The novel Double was co-authored with Marcia Muller.

If You Like Nameless Detective Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Nameless Detective Books

2 Responses to “Order of Nameless Detective Books”

  1. Mojave Son: 6 years ago

    Bill Pronzini’s “Nameless Detective” series is great. I’ve read and enjoyed all of them. All of Pronzini’s books are great, no matter what the genre.


  2. Mojave Son: 7 years ago

    Order Of Books is a great website. Without it I wouldn’t be able to keep up on all my favorite author and their works.


Leave a Reply