Nigel Strangeways by Nicholas Blake
Nigel Strangeways is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by Anglo-Irish author Nicholas Blake. Set in England, Nigel Strangeways is an Oxford graduate who is now an amateur sleuth. Unlike many sleuths, Nigel focuses on the psychological aspects of a crime, rather than hard physical evidence.

Nicholas Blake began his Nigel Strangeways series in 1935 with the novel A Question of Proof. The series lasted a total of 16 novels, concluding with The Morning After Death. Below is a list of Nicholas Blake’s Nigel Strangeways books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Nigel Strangeways Books

A Question of Proof(1935)Description / Buy at
Thou Shell of Death / Shell of Death(1936)Description / Buy at
There's Trouble Brewing(1937)Description / Buy at
The Beast Must Die(1938)Description / Buy at
The Smiler with the Knife(1939)Description / Buy at
Murder with Malice / Malice in Wonderland / The Summer Camp Mystery(1940)Description / Buy at
The Corpse in the Snowman / The Case of the Abominable Snowman(1941)Description / Buy at
Minute for Murder(1947)Description / Buy at
Head of a Traveler(1949)Description / Buy at
The Dreadful Hollow(1953)Description / Buy at
The Whisper in the Gloom / Catch and Kill(1954)Description / Buy at
End of Chapter(1957)Description / Buy at
The Widow's Cruise(1959)Description / Buy at
The Worm of Death(1961)Description / Buy at
The Sad Variety(1964)Description / Buy at
Thou Shell of Death(1964)Description / Buy at
The Morning After Death(1966)Description / Buy at
Whisper in the Gloom(1977)Description / Buy at

If You Like Nigel Strangeways Books, You’ll Love…

Nigel Strangeways Synopsis: Thou Shell of Death is the second book in the Nigel Strangeways series by Nicholas Blake. This time, the poet turned private detective is called in to help a legendary World War One flying ace who has been receiving death threats. Fergus O’Brien, a legendary World War 1 flying ace with several skeletons in his closet, receives a series of mocking letters predicting that he will be murdered on Boxing Day. Undaunted, O’Brien throws a Christmas party, inviting everyone who could be suspected of making the threats, along with private detective Nigel Strangeways. But despite Nigel’s presence, the former pilot is found dead, just as predicted, and Nigel is left to aid the local police in their investigation while trying to ignore his growing attraction to one of the other guests – and suspects – explorer Georgina Cavendish.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Nigel Strangeways Books

Leave a Reply