Night World is a series of young adult fantasy novels by American novelist L.J. Smith. Although it is a fantasy series, Smith also mixes in plenty of horror and romance. “Night World” refers to a secret society of vampires, werewolves, witches and shapeshifters who live among humans (who are oblivious). Each story follows a different teenage girl as the protagonist. The two rules to prevent discovery are never to allow humans to gain knowledge of their existence and never to fall in love with one.

The Night World series began in 1996 with Secret Vampire. Following Witchlight in 1999, Smith has taken a lengthy hiatus from the series, but she promises to conclude the series with Strange Fate. Below is a list of L.J. Smith’s Night World books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Get notified when L.J. Smith releases a new book at

Publication Order of Night World Books

Note: Spellbinder was also published as Enchantress.

If You Like Night World Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Night World Books

Leave a Reply