The Outlander series is a series of novels by American author Diana Gabaldon. The featured characters in Outlander are Claire Randall and James Alexander Malcolm MacKenzie Fraser. In it, Claire is a British Army nurse from World War II who happens to touch a stone that sends her all the way back to the 18th century. The series has elements of romance, science fiction and historical fiction.

Currently, the Outlander series consists of seven novels (which will be eight as of 2013). This ongoing series has been going since 1991 and not only includes the novels, but also a guide to the series and a graphic novel (not listed here). The series was spun off into Gabaldon’s other series, the Lord John series. Below is a list of the Outlander books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Diana Gabaldon releases a new book at

Publication Order of Outlander Books

Outlander / Cross Stitch(1991)Description / Buy at
Dragonfly in Amber(1992)Description / Buy at
Voyager(1993)Description / Buy at
Drums of Autumn(1996)Description / Buy at
The Fiery Cross(2001)Description / Buy at
A Breath of Snow and Ashes(2005)Description / Buy at
An Echo in the Bone(2009)Description / Buy at
Written in My Own Heart's Blood(2014)Description / Buy at
Go Tell The Bees That I Am Gone(2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Outlander Short Stories Books

(By: Diana Gabaldon, Steve Berry)

The Custom of the Army(2010)Description / Buy at
A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows(2012)Description / Buy at
A Plague of Zombies(2013)Description / Buy at
Virgins(2013)Description / Buy at
The Space Between(2014)Description / Buy at
Past Prologue(2019)Description / Buy at
A Fugitive Green(2022)Description / Buy at
Besieged(2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Outlander Collections

A Trail of Fire(2012)Description / Buy at
Seven Stones to Stand or Fall(2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Outlander Graphic Novels

The Exile: An Outlander Graphic Novel(2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Outlander Non-Fiction Books

The Outlandish Companion(1999)Description / Buy at
The Outlandish Companion Volume Two(2015)Description / Buy at
The Official Outlander Coloring Book: An Adult Coloring Book(2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Outlander Companion Books

The Official Outlander Companion Cookbook(2016)Description / Buy at
To the New World and Back Again(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Outlander Books, You’ll Love…

Outlander Synopsis: Voyager is the third book of the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. Will Brianna find out the truth about her real father? Also, what happened to Jamie following the massacre in 18th century Scotland?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Outlander Books

3 Responses to “Order of Outlander Books”

  1. Nancy: 5 years ago

    I enjoy EVERYTHING about the entire Outlander series. The music is lovely. The storyline unique. Totally enjoyable!


  2. Kasey: 11 years ago

    This book horrifies me. I have no problem with sex in books.
    I have no problem with books that are simply fun reads with no thought
    provoking ideas or moral lessons. I totally respect that people have different taste in books. I like many different types of books. I love history, especially Scottish history. I love to be entertained when reading. I love learning while I read. For all of these reasons, I decided to try reading Outlander. I had to stop reading less than half way through. This book affected me on a visceral level and I cannot get it out of my head, in a very negative way. My stomach literally turns when I think this book. The main female character is an abused woman. The main male character is abusive. Regardless of the historical accurateness of the book, it saddens me that we are praising a book where the main female character allows herself to be abused. She agrees that she did not obey her husband and understands why he has to beat her. As a woman, teacher, and mother, the acceptance of this book terrifies me. Why do we still allow ourselves to be objectified and abused, even in literature?


    • Brigitte Werts: 4 years ago

      You must have read a different book than I did. Claire Randall Frazier is anything but an abused woman. Jamie Frazier, the male lead character, is gentle and beyond his times. Perhaps you are referring to the male character, Black Jack Randall. Absolutely, yes, he is abusive and downright evil. But that’s part of the story. It most definitely is not the story. Just necessary to explain future portions. This series is about to be 9 books long. Black Jack is only a part of two. As far as Claire’s punishment, it was the 1700s, lives were at stake and her childishness warranted punishment for the times. Reality is reality.


Leave a Reply