The Patrick McLanahan series is a series of techno-thriller novels by American author Dale Brown. The books largely involve with US Air Force (which Brown served in).

Dale Brown started the series with Flight of the Old Dog in 1987 and originally had planned on ending it with Day of the Cheetah. However, the series lives on over 20 years later with a new book coming out most years. The series takes place in the same universe as Brown’s other novels. Gaps in this series are covered by Dale Brown’s Dreamland series.

Below is a list of the Patrick McLanahan novels in publication order as well as in chronological order:

Get notified when Dale Brown releases a new book at

Publication Order of Patrick McLanahan Books

Chronological Order of Patrick McLanahan Books

Publication Order of Brad McLanahan Books

If You Like Patrick McLanahan Books, You’ll Love…

Patrick McLanahan Synopsis: Day of the Cheetah is the second book to be published in Dale Brown’s Patrick McLanahan series and the fourth book chronologically. Keith James, who is the only one fully qualified to pilot the Dreamstar, steals the fighter jet for the Soviets. A new experimental F-15 called the Cheetah must hunt the Dreamstar down and destroy it. At the helm of the Cheetah is ace of the air Patrick McLanahan who returns after Flight of the Old Dog.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Patrick McLanahan Books

Leave a Reply