Shane Schofield is a fictional creation of Australian author Matthew Reilly. The character appears in an ongoing series of action-thriller novels. Schofield is a US Marine, going by the callsign “Scarecrow.” He got his callsign from the scars over his eyes the Serbs gave him. The character was based on Tom Cruise.

Reilly started the Shane Schofield series with The Ice Station in ’98 and followed it up with Area 7 three years later. After that, he wrote Scarecrow in 2003 and Scarecrow Returns (also known as Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves) in 2011. In between the two “Scarecrow” novels, he also wrote a novella entitled Hell Island.

Below is a list of the books in the Shane Schofield book series to date, in order of when they were published:

Get notified when Matthew Reilly releases a new book at

Publication Order of Shane Schofield Books

Ice Station(1998)Description / Buy at
Area 7(2001)Description / Buy at
Scarecrow(2003)Description / Buy at
Hell Island(2005)Description / Buy at
Scarecrow Returns / Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves(2011)Description / Buy at

Note: Scarecrow Returns is the US title of Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves.

If You Like Shane Schofield Books, You’ll Love…

Shane Schofield Synopsis: Shane Schofield makes his debut in Michael Reilly’s The Ice Station. It is set in Antarctica, where the Marines are battling all sorts of enemies. Underneath the ice is a hidden treasure that several governments want to get their hands on.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Shane Schofield Books

Leave a Reply