Sigma Force is a series of action-adventure/thriller novels by American novelist James Rollins. The SIGMA Force is a fictional division of the United States DARPA program. Its purpose is to investigate and secure sensitive information that could be a threat to the country. Painter Crowe is the lead agent of the force, with a keen analytical mind that can see beyond the obvious facts.

The series began in 2004 with Sandstorm and has continued at the rate of one new book per year ever since. The series is currently ongoing. Below is the order in which James Rollins’ Sigma Force books were originally published:

Get notified when James Rollins releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sigma Force Books

If You Like Sigma Force Books, You’ll Love…

Sigma Force Synopses: Sandstorm by James Rollins is the first book in the Sigma Force series. Twenty years ago, a wealthy British financier went missing near Ubar, the fabled lost city underneath Oman. Now, a scientific expedition, led by the financier’s daughter, is finally setting off for the legendary metropolist to attempt to undercover its secrets. What they find, however, is more beautiful than they ever dreamed – and much deadlier. Within Ubar is a powerful energy source that could fuel the entire planet – if it can be harnessed. But before they can resurface, the explorers become trapped. For the same life-giving force that can save the world is about to set off a giant, sweeping storm awesome enough to annihilate everything in its wake…

Map of Bones is the second book in the Sigma Force series. During a packed service at a German cathedral, armed intruders in monks’ robes unleash a nightmare of bloody destruction. But the killers aren’t looking for gold; they seek something much more valuable: the bones of the Magi who once paid homage to a newborn savior… a treasure that could change the world.

With the Vatican in chaos, SIGMA Force leaps into action. An elite team of scientific and Special Forces operatives under the command of Grayson Pierce and accompanied by Lieutenant Rachel Verona of Rome’s carabinieri, they are following a deadly mystery that weaves through sites of the Seven Wonders of the World and ends at the doorstep of an ancient, mystical, and terrifying secret order. For there are those with dark plans for the stolen sacred remains that would change the future of the human race… when science and religion unite to unleash a horror that has not been witnessed since the beginning of time.

Black Order is the third book in James Rollins’ Sigma Force series. In Copenhagen, a suspicious bookstore fire sends Commander Gray Pierce on a relentless hunt across four continents – and into a terrifying mystery surrounding horrific experiments once performed in a now-abandoned laboratory buried in a hollowed-out mountain in Poland.

In a remote monastery located in the mountains of Nepal, Buddhist monks inexplicably turn to cannibalism and torture – while Painter Crowe, director of SIGMA Force, begins to show signs of the same baffling, mind-destroying malady… and Lisa Cummings, a dedicated American doctor, becomes the target of a brutal clandestine assassin.

Only Gray Pierce and SIGMA Force can save a world that has fallen into sudden jeopardy. Because a new order is rising up – an annihilating nightmare growing at the heart of the greatest mystery of all: the origin of life.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sigma Force Books

5 Responses to “Order of Sigma Force Books”

  1. Karen Rice: 1 year ago

    Love his books He has taught me so much due to his research. Amazing author!


  2. mgzoo: 9 years ago

    this list does not include “the Alter of Eden” which was published in 2010 so it comes after “the Doomsday Key” and before “The Devil Colony”.


  3. Janine Louise Murphy: 9 years ago

    On James Rollins website these are the books in order. Although Tracker and Skeleton Key are under Sigma Force they are considered part of two short stories that introduce two new characters. Tracker is a short story that introduces Tucker Wayne and Kane for the first time. (See Kill Switch) which is the first book in that series. So enought prattling here are the books in order according to Mr. Rollins himself:

    1. Sandstorm
    2. Map of Bones
    3. Black Order
    4. Judas Strain
    5. Last Oracle
    6. Doomsday Key
    6.5. Skeleton key
    7. Devil Colony
    7.5 Tracker
    8. Bloodline
    9. Eye of God
    10. Sixth Extinction
    I also recommend his other stand alone novels!
    Happy Reading!!


    • Susan: 8 years ago

      When is #12 due out???


  4. Jesse: 10 years ago

    “Tracker” is an ebook, not really considered part of the Sigma Series.


Leave a Reply