Peter McGarr is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American author Bartholomew Gill. Peter McGarr is a chief inspector based in Ireland.

Bartholomew Gill began his Peter McGarr series in 1977 with the novel McGarr and the Politician’s Wife. The series lasted 16 novels, concluding with Death in Dublin. The eighth book of the series, The Death of a Joyce Scholar, was nominated for an Edgar Award. Below is a list of Bartholomew Gill’s Peter McGarr books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Peter McGarr Books

McGarr and the Politician's Wife/The Death of an Irish Politician(1976)Description / Buy at
McGarr and the Sienese Conspiracy/The Death of an Irish Consul(1977)Description / Buy at
McGarr and the Cliffs of Moher/The Death of an Irish Lass(1978)Description / Buy at
cGarr and the Dublin Horse Show/The Death of an Irish Tradition(1979)Description / Buy at
McGarr and the P.M. of Belgrave Square(1983)Description / Buy at
McGarr and the Method of Descartes(1984)Description / Buy at
McGarr and the Legacy of a Woman Scorned(1986)Description / Buy at
The Death of a Joyce Scholar(1989)Description / Buy at
The Death of Love(1992)Description / Buy at
Death on a Cold, Wild River(1993)Description / Buy at
The Death of an Ardent Bibliophile(1995)Description / Buy at
The Death of an Irish Sea Wolf(1996)Description / Buy at
The Death of an Irish Tinker/Death of a Busker King(1997)Description / Buy at
The Death of an Irish Lover(2000)Description / Buy at
The Death of an Irish Sinner(2001)Description / Buy at
Death in Dublin(2002)Description / Buy at

If You Like Peter McGarr Books, You’ll Love…

Peter McGarr Synopsis: The Death of an Irish Lass is the third book in the Peter McGarr series. The dead woman is an enigma – a local lass who emigrated to the States a few years ago, now perched atop a 700–foot cliff high above the pounding Irish surf… with two passports, a pistol, and $27,000 USD in her coat pocket. The brutality of May Quirk’s murder – along with the accompanying death of her unborn child – haunts Chief Superintendent Peter McGarr of the Special Crimes Unit. What was it that brought her home to County Clare to die? McGarr is determined to find out, as his investigation carries him into the twisted core of a deadly conspiracy centered around money, madness, and lethal politics… and leads him far from his own home to a dark place where a dedicated Irish policeman is easy prey.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Peter McGarr Books

Leave a Reply