Miss Phryne Fisher by Kerry Greenwood
Miss Phryne Fisher (pronounced “fry-nee”) is the main character in a series of historical mystery novels by Australian novelist Kerry Greenwood. Phryne Fisher is an aristocratic woman sleuth straight out of the roaring twenties, complete with the look of a woman of the time period. However, she is no ordinary woman; she can fly a plane and drives a Hispano-Suiza. The series is set in St. Kilda, Melbourne, Australia.

Kerry Greenwood debuted her Honourable Phryne Fisher character in 1989 with the novel Cocaine Blues (which was also published as Death by Misadventure). The series is currently ongoing, and Greenwood has said that she will continue writing Phryne Fisher mysteries as long as people want to read them. Below is a list of Kerry Greenwood’s Phryne Fisher books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Kerry Greenwood releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Phryne Fisher Books

Cocaine Blues / Death by Misadventure / Miss Phryne Fisher Investigates(1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Flying Too High(1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder on the Ballarat Train(1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death at Victoria Dock(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Green Mill Murder(1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Blood and Circuses(1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ruddy Gore(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Urn Burial(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Raisins and Almonds(1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death Before Wicket(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Away with the Fairies(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder in Montparnasse(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Castlemaine Murders(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Queen of the Flowers(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death by Water(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder in the Dark(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder on a Midsummer Night(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dead Man's Chest(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Unnatural Habits(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder and Mendelssohn(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death in Daylesford(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder in Williamstown(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Phryne Fisher Collections

A Question of Death: An Illustrated Phryne Fisher Treasury(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Lady with the Gun Asks the Questions(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: Cocaine Blues is also known as Death by Misadventure.

If You Like Phryne Fisher Books, You’ll Love…

Phryne Fisher Synopsis: A Question of Death: An Illustrated Phryne Fisher Treasury is an anthology feautring Kerry Greenwood’s Phryne Fisher character. She has a Lulu bob, green eyes, Cupid Bow’s lips and diamante garters, making her an elegate and irrepressible sleuth from the 1920s. The collection not only includes Phryne Fisher stories, but a listing of her favourites shoes, hats, cocktail recipes and tips on how to discourage unwanted admirers. The collection contains illustrations by Beth Norling.

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Phryne Fisher Books

Leave a Reply