Quarry is a fictional character in a series of crime fiction novels by American author Max Allan Collins. Quarry is a Vietnam vet, now back home as a cold-hearted hitman. The character has also appeared in the film adaptations A Matter of Principal (based on a short story) and The Last Lullaby (starring Tom Sizemore as “Price”).

Max Allan Collins began his Quarry series in 1976 with the title novel (aka The Broker). The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Max Allan Collins’ Quarry books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Max Allan Collins releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Quarry Books

Quarry / The Broker(1976)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Quarry's List / The Broker's Wife(1976)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Quarry's Deal / The Dealer(1976)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Quarry's Cut / The Slasher(1977)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Quarry's Vote / Primary Target(1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Last Quarry(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The First Quarry(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Quarry in the Middle(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Quarry's Ex(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Wrong Quarry(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Quarry's Choice(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Quarry in the Black(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Quarry's Climax(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Killing Quarry(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Quarry's Blood(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Quarry Collections

Quarry's Greatest Hits(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: Quarry was also published as The Broker. Quarry’s Deal was also titled The Dealer. Quarry’s List was also published as The Broker’s Wife. Quarry’s Cut was also published as The Slasher. Primary Target was also titled Quarry’s Vote.

If You Like Quarry Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Quarry Books

4 Responses to “Order of Quarry Books”

  1. T T: 8 years ago

    Quaary in the black is either book 2 or 3 it seems.


  2. Tom: 8 years ago

    The order for Quarry is easy, provided you’ve read them.
    1. The First Quarry
    2. Quarry’s Choice (about 18 months after “The First Quarry”)
    3. Quarry
    4. Quarry’s List
    5. Quarry’s Deal
    6. Quarry’s Cut
    7. Quarry’s Ex (mentions of seeing “more Reagan buttons than Carter buttons” puts this in 1979)
    8. The Wrong Quarry (mentions his like of new wave and another thing that I won’t mention, as it would be a spoiler)
    9. Quarry In the Middle (he mentions being older and wanting to retire)
    10. Quarry’s Vote (1987 and he comes out of retirement)
    11. The Last Quarry (well, obviously)
    I haven’t read “Quarry in the Black” yet but I’ll comment when I do.


  3. Spike: 10 years ago

    The recommended reading order is wrong. Quarry is 32 in “Ex” and 35 in “Middle”, so read it before.


    • Brandon: 10 years ago

      That just makes it all the more confusing. Thanks for the help. I will update this as soon as I find a simple enough way to word it. 🙂


Leave a Reply