Frank Nolan is the protagonist in a series of hard-boiled mystery novels by American author Max Allan Collins. It is no secret that Nolan is based on Richard Stark‘s Parker character. Collins didn’t mind writing a one-off novel with a heavily inspired character, however he didn’t feel comfortable doing a series until he got Stark’s permission (which he got). The Nolan character is an aging thief who needs one more heist before he can call it a career.

The Frank Nolan character made his debut in the novel Bait Money, published in 1973. Later that year, Collins would also have the first follow-up, Blood Money published. Below is a list of Max Allan Collins’ Frank Nolan books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Max Allan Collins releases a new book at

Publication Order of Frank Nolan Books

Bait Money(1973)Description / Buy at
Blood Money(1973)Description / Buy at
Fly Paper(1981)Description / Buy at
Hush Money(1981)Description / Buy at
Hard Cash(1981)Description / Buy at
Scratch Fever(1982)Description / Buy at
Spree(1987)Description / Buy at
Mourn the Living(1988)Description / Buy at
Tough Tender(1991)Description / Buy at
Skim Deep(2020)Description / Buy at
Double Down(2021)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Nolan Books

Mourn the Living is the first book in the series in chronological order.

If You Like Frank Nolan Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Frank Nolan Books

Leave a Reply