Rabbi Small by Harry Kemelman
Rabbi Small is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American author Harry Kemelman. David Small is the newly hired Rabbi of the Conservative Jewish congregation in Barnard’s Crossing, Massachusetts. He is wise, dedicated to Jewish tradition and a devoted husband. He also possesses formidable problem-solving and deduction abilities, which come in handy when he ends up having to solve mysteries. The series was adapted into a television movie in 1976 (based on Friday the Rabbi Slept Late) and a TV series (entitled Lanigan’s Rabbi).

Harry Kemelman introduced his Rabbi Small character in Friday the Rabbi Slept Late, published in 1964. The series lasted 11 novels, plus an additional non-mystery novel entitled Conversations with Rabbi Small. The series concluded in 1996 with That Day the Rabbi Left Town. Below is a list of Harry Kemelman’s Rabbi Small books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of The Rabbi Small Mysteries Books

Friday the Rabbi Slept Late(1964)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Saturday the Rabbi Went Hungry(1966)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sunday the Rabbi Stayed Home(1969)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Monday the Rabbi Took Off(1972)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Tuesday the Rabbi Saw Red(1973)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Wednesday the Rabbi Got Wet(1976)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Thursday the Rabbi Walked Out(1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Conversations with Rabbi Small(1981)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Someday the Rabbi Will Leave(1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
One Fine Day the Rabbi Bought a Cross(1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Day the Rabbi Resigned(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
That Day the Rabbi Left Town(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Rabbi Small Books, You’ll Love…

Rabbi Small Synopsis: Saturday the Rabbi Went Hungry by Harry Kemelman is the second book in the Rabbi Small series. It’s Yom Kippur in Barnard’s Crossing, Mass. and Rabbi Small is getting ready with prayers and fasting. However, his preparation is put to a halt when a member of the congregation is found dead in his car. The police think it’s an accident and the insurance company says it’s a suicide, but Rabbi Small’s pregnant wife, Miriam, thinks it’s murder. Will the Rabbi be able to prove her right?

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Rabbi Small Books

Leave a Reply